Road to Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 30th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the bus at 8am and off to Berlin. We got out 'morning song' today. The monrning song is a song that's plaeyed every morning when we leave. It's a Canadian Irish song called "Home for a Rest" by a band called Spirit of the West. By george it rules.

The trip is supposed to be our longest journey for the entire tour. We arrived at about 4pm and went to the Brandenburg gate, the Jewish Holocaust Memorial, The tear garden, a Russian Monument and the Reichstag.

I'm really enjoying Berlin thus far. The city is laid out really well, there's shitloads of history and the people here seem really nice.
We got to our hostel which is way better then the previous two places we stayed. There was plenty of space in our room, comfy beds, lockers, decent windows, a fan a gourmet bathroom and decent locks to get into the rooms.

Had dinner, which was fucking bland. A salad with feta cheese and chips. We then went upstairs to the bar and got drunk. It was really cool getting wasted with the majority of the Contiki people. Really good bonding experience. Heh, that sounds gay.

There was a this creepy guy who was starting to make a move on some of the girls and my table dared me to go up to the girls and cockblock him. I did it like a pro, but by george that fellow was deciated. I had to work my magic for like 10minutes. I told the girls when he left and apologised for potentially fanny corking them.

Oh yeah, these two creepy old me turned up and one of them walked up to me and put a cigarette in my mouth, didn't say anything, just put a cigarette in my mouth. I told him I didn't smoke, but of course he didn't understand English (I keep forgetting that). I pointed out the sign saying they couldn't go outside to smoke (Police had come in earlier due to noise) so they put their cigarettes in the door and walked off to the ping-pong table where they proceeded to dance infront of the people playing.
I stole their cigarettes and gave them to someone on tour.

That's me. Toodles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb