last days in berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well tomorrow is the day I make the move to the czech republic. I am not going to lie, I am a little nervous. I will definitely miss Jess, it has been quite a comfort knowing that there is another person with me. Moving on to more exciting things, Jess and I took the free walking tour of Berlin the other day, it was really really good. I learned a lot about German history and got to see all the sights. I fell in love with the memorials here. (the pictures will be up soon, I promise) The one for the holocaust I have mentioned before, but the other really amaying one was the at the sight where the book burning was, during Hitler´s rule. There is a sheet of plexi glass in the middle of the square and when you look into it you see empty bookshelves. The amazing thing is that they are actually book shelves. There is a whole room there that is now completely unreachable and has space for the exact number of books that were burnt. It was definitely a highlight.

Prague days 1 and 2

Well the first impressions of the city were kind of dismall, the area by the train station isnt that nice and the people were kind of intimidating. My feelings were probably affected at least a bit by the fact that i had gotten up at 4 that morning and the bus we were taking was over an hour late and i had to drag around my huge suitcase with a broken handle. When we actually started exploring the old part of the city though I fell in love. It is beautiful. I think I must have taken about 200 or 300 pictures in 2 days. Our first night Jess and I went to this costumed classical music preformance, it was really neat, although we were both in agreement that the dancers were aweful. Oh well it was the cheapest of all the concerts so I guess you get what you pay for right. We had an early night after the concert and then got up at 8 so that we would be in the old part of Prague and at the castle by 10 to see the changing of the gaurd. Then we went and toured around the castle. It is huge and has some really amazing history. There was clothing and other artifacts from the middle ages up, and there was a story with the history of the city relating to the castle. We also went into St Vitus Cathedral. So incredible, I was in complete awe of it. In the afternoon we went to an english book store and read a little bit and then walked for a while more before heading back to the hostel. All in all I love the old part of the city, I still have some ill feelings towards the rest of the city though, it really hasnt been kept up very well at all and man do the people dress horribly.

I say again pictures will be up soon... hopefully in 3 days

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb