not much


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alright so the last week hasnt really been that exciting, and that is why I havent posted. It has been raining a lot since I got here and so Jess and I have been putting off doing a lot of things until the weather gets better. We did go to the zoo with Jenny the other day, Jenny is the girl Jess looks after here. At the zoo I somehow managed to break one of my toes by stubbing it on JessĀ“ shoe, only I could do that right. Other than my toe I really have nothing to complain about. The family Jess has been living with, and who I am now living with also, is really nice. It was the fatherĀ“s birthday yesterday and so his parents came to visit, bringing with them a very deliscious strawberry cake that looked like it should be in a magazine. The grandfather, it turns out, was a Nazi soldier during the war, but also the nicest man. He gave both Jess and I chocolate and later tried to explain to us how to say drunk in german by acting it out along with his wife. Very interesting. Well thats about all for this blog.


Advertisement



14th July 2007

Not to be a smart ass, but the old soldier might have been interested to hear that your grampa Hugo was also a soldier in the Second World War. The old soldiers usually have less of a problem with that kind of thing than their relatives, I think they all feel that there was not much they could have done about it and for most of them, it was just a job. Tough news about the toe, good thing you have those really comfy sandals, they will be easy to put on and off. Nice dad you got to get you the good stuff eh.
15th July 2007

i would have told him that, if he spoke any english. but sadly we were kind of stuck on the language barrier thing and i didnt really feel like a birthday celibration was the right time to bring up the war....
15th July 2007

truedat

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb