"ich bin ein Berliner"


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
April 15th 2007
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post


"ich bin ein Berliner" - (I am a Berliner) These words were famously quoted by JFK. I can almost say I am enjoying it just as much. I am sure my reasons are different to his, but you really feel part of this wonderful city when you are here. Most people speak some English, its only when you get into the less "touristy" places that you struggle - but everyone is so friendly its been part of the fun trying to be understood.
Yesterday Pete and I were in a supermarket trying to buy sausage (back to the eating) and by the time we finished there were about 10 other customers involved all with some input into the translation.....everyone applauded us, when we finally got it right and left with our half a kilo of hot sausage!!
I am sure my enjoyment has also got to do with us sharing this city with Nicole and Dean. This is the start of their fantastic holiday paid for by Deans father. He meets them here before traveling through about 5 countries (2 weeks) together, all 5 star travel!!! - I just have to be content with my 3 days before they go.
Shopping, shopping and more shopping I thought it was impossible to have too much, but I conceded defeat yesterday - Nicole was up for more
Today we will cover all the "must do sites" ..the wall...Checkpoint Charlie and the rest. The weather has been great, even though its early spring their has been no need for jumpers. This weather update is important as it justifies my purchases, because I am often finding myself saying " Pete I only brought winter clothes with me - I need this "
I don't think I can include photos this time as I am in an Internet cafe...wish me luck with explaining in German what I need!! If you don't see photos then you know my German is bad, but I will include more tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb