Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
December 18th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I awoke this morning with the intention of spending time catching up on my classwork that I have missed. However, as I lay in bed I realised that time is short and in a month if I look back on today I would not regret not doing homework, whereas I would regret not getting around Germany as much as possible. So....I decided to make a day trip to Nuremburg, since it is only about an hour away by train.

I trudged carefully the 20 minutes walk to the station but had just missed the train. The next one was not for two hours so decided to go to Munich instead. (other options through Regensburg this morning were Vienna or Prague but they need an overnight stay!) It was a bit like Dr Zhivago, travelling through the snowy fields, villages and forests. It didn't really snow today but the temperature was about -7 degrees. Most of the time the sun shone.

Because it was so cold I thought I would start by taking one of those ubiquitous double decker bus tours around the city so I could get a feel for the main sights before getting off and spending time in the Alte Pinakothek gallery. It was great travelling around the city observing the people enjoying themselves in the snow, towing children on sleds, ice skating on canals and cross country skiing in parks.

I came back tonight to go out to a restaurant with my classmates to celebrate the birthday of one man from"Baskland"( in Spain) and the departure of the Anglican priest back to Luxemburg. It is a very friendly language school and accommodation facility.

The teachers all seem to be super kind and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. I have the same teacher 5 mornings a week in a class of 8-10. It's interesting to be a student in another teacher's class. You realise so much more about what is helpful.

On Thursday night about 15 of us worked together from 7-10pm making 3 types of Christmas cookies for the language school Christmas party yesterday. I have really chosen well in both the town and the school.

The people of Bavaria seem to been very helpful and happy. They talk with animation to each other and others around them in trains and cafes. Whenever i have asked for help,such as today purchasing my train ticket from a complicated vending machine, they always help in a most friendly way.

Now that I am starting to relax I find I am able to read more signs and understand what is going on quite well. Yesterday I was asked for directions and I actually understood and was able to give an appropriate reply. Today people waiting for the return train from Munich engaged me in converstaion and I was also able to reply.

The nice Spanish girl(woman) who has been sitting next to me in class said that the first week is always overwhelming , but after that it starts to make sense and by the end of a month it will be quite good. Here's hoping.

I have breakfast of muesli and fruit and yoghurt in my room but then go out for coffee before class. I try to walk around as much as possible outisde both to get exercise and to get fresh air. However, yesterday morning, heading for my 8.30am coffee I forgot to step carefully and slipped over on the icy slush. Luckily I didn't do any damage. But it serves as a timely reminder to tread carefully at all times. Most of the roads here in the old town are narrow and scarely used by traffic. Mostly people just use up the full width of the road, walking, pushing prams and towing sleds with preschoolers sitting on them.

I think my computer has gone mad. Yesterday I was typing the script for a powerpoint presentation for my class and so searching for umlauts. I tried to add German as a language to the computer's repertoire. So now it thinks nearly all my English is spelt incorrectly. Even the spam on the side of my facebook page is in German. But the clock on this computer is still on Sydney time. Big Brother doesn't know everything.

Advertisement



19th December 2010

Blog 4
You sure are having an interesting time & not wasting a minute of it. Sounds as if you are doing well in your german. It seems to be hard work & a lot of fun. Isn't it great to think that you can go anyhere in the world & find friends, or as Anne of Green Gables would have said "kindred spirits" (saw the sequel of "Anne of Green Gables"on TV last --schmalz). Hope your computer recovers. Love Helen
22nd December 2010

I feel it !!!!!
Your descriptions are so vivid, Erica, I can truly picture and get a vivid sense of what is going on. Reminds me of my Denmark days. How lovely to feel so welcome and be amidst such friendly and unassuming people. Xmas fever is building up here, and it is the same thing every year. I try to keep in mind that each Xmas and NewYear should be a celebration of life and not get too frazzled with too much happening at once. Take care of yourself, Looking forward to the next blog. love gilan

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.5mb