Happy Birthday Mom!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today would be my Mom’s 62nd Birthday, and there is no reason why we shouldn’t celebrate it; it’s what she would have wanted!

This year was particularly special for Kelsey and I because we got to visit with my Mom’s family, the Becks (I know, Beck to Stiefvater!), and it was great to connect/reconnect with them as it was Kelsey’s first time and I haven’t been since my Mom passed away. We weren’t able to see my Mom’s sister and two sons who live in Austria, but we visited with my Mom’s brother’s family in Behweiler (near Lake Constance, in the very south of Germany), which is where she grew up, actually in the exact same house.

It was great to see my Uncle Otto and Aunt Angela and all my cousins. We had a lot of fun hanging out with them and reminiscing about my family’s visits to Germany and some of their visits to Canada. We also spent an afternoon at the Beck farm visiting my Mom’s memorial and flipping through old photo albums, enjoying old memories.

On this amazing trip of ours, Kelsey and I have been very fortunate to have my Mom watching over
On the front stepsOn the front stepsOn the front steps

Annemarie, Otto, Imgard
us, ensuring our safety and always pointing out the hidden beauty in everything. She is our Guardian Angel. Thank you for everything you do, everyday!

So today we’ll celebrate with a walk along the beach, a dip in the Aegean Sea, Greek Salad and Lamb (my Mom’s favourite meat), and of course because it’s Kels and I, a big glass of wine!

Happy Birthday Mom!

With Love from Greece,
Daniel & Kelsey




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Earlier YearsEarlier Years
Earlier Years

Imgard, Otto, Annemarie
Another OldieAnother Oldie
Another Oldie

Annemarie, Otto, Imgard
BehweilerBehweiler
Behweiler

Where my Mom grew up.
"Tante Senz""Tante Senz"
"Tante Senz"

Senz is my Mom's step-mother. She is the reason my Mom made the best kase-spetzle.
Ingrid & Me on Lake ConstanceIngrid & Me on Lake Constance
Ingrid & Me on Lake Constance

Ingrid is my Mom's Step-Niece who lived with us in 2003.
Franz BeckFranz Beck
Franz Beck

My Mom's Dad
BBQ with the BecksBBQ with the Becks
BBQ with the Becks

My Mom's brother, Otto, and his whole family.
Me & Kels at the MemorialMe & Kels at the Memorial
Me & Kels at the Memorial

1/3 of my Mom's ashes are buried here. 1/3 are at the bench in Oyster Bay. 1/3 were scattered in the Ocean in Australia in 2006 (that's where my Mom wanted to go on her 60th Birthday!)
Me and OttoMe and Otto
Me and Otto

Can you tell he's my uncle...
On the front stepsOn the front steps
On the front steps

Achim, Franz, Otto, Kelsey, Betina, me, Angela, Uli, Martin
Happy Birthday Mom!Happy Birthday Mom!
Happy Birthday Mom!

My Mom's 58th Birthday in 2004.


6th November 2008

What a very touching entry. Really enjoyed it

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb