Brave New World


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Würzburg
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

P1010042P1010042P1010042

View from my room of my accomodation
Well, what can I say about Wuerzburg? It's one of those cities which come rain or shine (preferably shine) looks beautiful. Lots of old architecture; lots of little winding streets as well large sweeping ones; lots of Churches and a beautiful market square. Despite the slight rain when I arrived last Monday, I knew that I'd made the right decision to come here over Aachen.

To top it off, the accomodation in which I'm living is a lot better than the places I've lived in during my time at York: a huge bedroom, with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. However there is one downside to all this: social life. In Goodricke, there were 16 of us on our corridor, you couldn't go anywhere without seeing anyone and last year I was in a house of 6 with people I was friends with. Yes, the accomodation is nice but after 2 years of university, living in this type of quiet is strange. Also it seems as if most of the students (most of which I can gather so far are German) generally tend to keep themselves to themselves. It's as if university was meant for studying!?! But term still hasn't started
P1010043P1010043P1010043

My room in Wuerzburg
yet, so maybe the madness of student life is yet to kick in? Well, we'll see. However both of my flatmates are very nice. One of them seems quite quiet (she was also quite shocked to discover that, even though I'm a year above her in university, I'm actually roughly 2 years younger than her) and my other flatmate seems lovely and not as quiet, but we'll see.

However, my first week in Wuerzburg has been difficult at times but good. All of the paperwork and official stuff is rather annoying. I was sent to 3 different rooms in the town hall when trying to register as a citizen for the year (the second of which was the correct one in the end, some people don't seem to realise that the UK is in the EU). Everything else official I had to do, I had some help from the university's international office, where I was given someone to come with me to open a bank account, sort out the doctors and register at the uni. Once this was all sorted, a weight was lifted from my shoulders, but another difficult thing to overcome is the culture shock.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb