Lots of preparation


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Würzburg
October 9th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ever since I knew that I could spend a year in Europe as part of my degree, I'd decided that it was something I wanted to do. All of the courses I applied for involved me spending a year elsewhere, so surely with all this preparation, I would be ready for whatever would be thrown at me. Well 4 years down the line since I started looking at universities, I'm finally doing my year in Europe and was I fully prepared for everything in store? No, to be honest.

Last December was when everything actually started. My supervisor emailed the contact at Julius-Maximilians Universitaet Wuerzburg, where I had decided to go, after saying I definitely wanted to do the year in Europe. Not expecting a reply quickly, just within two days, I'd had a reply saying that they were happy to offer me place and that I just had to fill in all the forms so that I formally had a place.

The last two terms at York comprised of filling out more paperwork, both for York and Wuerzburg. Sure, I had my doubts, but I was determined to go through with it. With the long summer ahead of me, I planned to make the most of it, and before I knew it, 13 weeks had passed, my stuff was all packed again, and with passport in hand I was ready to go.

I took the long way round to get to Wuerzburg (via car.) Sunday morning at 7am, I left home to get to Dover for a midday crossing to Dunkirk. From there onto Belgium, where we stayed overnight. The trip that first day was fine, excitement was fighting with my nervousness but it hadn't quite sunk in yet. Day 2 was a 4 hour car journey from Belgium to Wuerzburg. Again, very straightforward but nerves were starting to win over. Fear of the unknown, not sure what to expect...So what happened when I arrived in Wuerzburg? You'll just have to wait and find out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb