At last... a dragon


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Oberstaufen
December 12th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stauf!!!Stauf!!!Stauf!!!

Welcome to Oberstaufen
Well... not really.


On Saturday we went out to Oberstaufen to chase some snow. The night before I went along with Warren and Christine to another of Warren's Christmas parties - it was at this awesome greek restaurant, and we all ate so much food! We were totally stuffed and needed a big lie-in to sleep off all the food.


Oh - I offer respect to anyone who can tell me what the title of this blog is in reference to. Massive amounts of respect to anyone other than Meg who can tell me :P


We got down to Oberstaufen around lunch time, and it was just as beautiful as it was last year! Unfortunately it was raining, but there was snow everywhere still from falls earlier that week. Doris and Hugo (Christine's parents) are so lovely! I can't wait till Weinachts when we get to be there for longer. Doris made dumplings and blaukraut (yay kraut!! :D).


After lunch we went on a walk around the area... There was snow all around - not heaps, just little bits, more than enough to throw at people... well, to throw at Warren. Warren was
a hee heea hee heea hee hee

Warren doing an excellent Glen Twenty impersonation
saying that that is what Staufners (people from Oberstaufen) do - they walk. When we were out walking - so was everyone else, it was really interesting... everyone just gets out and walks around the place. They're not going anywhere, like to the shops, or walking for excercise - they're just walking around, chatting, looking at houses - I love it!


In the afternoon we went to this pub called the Glasshouse (well, it's probably more of a cafe), to meet Christine's friends. I had my first Raddler. A Raddler (which I have since introduced to all the people in my course) is a shandy - just beer and lemonade... but unlike in Australia where only old women drink shandies, lots of Germans (or Staufners at least) drink Raddlers. Their name comes from Radfahrt, or bicycle, because you can drink them and still be okay to ride your bike - it's cute.


I worry that this blog is slightly too 'we went there and did this, and then we did this other thing and that was ace' but you know what... I don't really care :P I think I will just embrace it.


By
ForestForestForest

A forest near Doris and Hugo's house
the time we headed home I was soooo tired. I think I slept the whole way home... I think Christine got a kick out of that - like a kid sleeping in the back of a car. I don't think they took any embarrassing photos of me tho - thank crap they're not pricks like I am (please see included old photo of Eddie passed out in the back of the car whilst driving down to Katoomba - mwahahaahaaaaahaaaa... ha!)


Love you all - thanks so much for the comments - and Kel, why yes there are more photos up on my picasa site... the address of which is - http://picasaweb.google.com/grotskylittlebiatch


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Schnee!!Schnee!!
Schnee!!

Snow, everywhere...
More snowMore snow
More snow

taa-dah!!
EVIL!!!EVIL!!!
EVIL!!!

mwahahaaaaa -


12th December 2007

From Valerie
I have absolutely no idea who or what is the dragon.... bit early in the morning for me! So you have visited Ohhhhhhhhhh-berstaufen again and had a lovely day and fallen asleep in the back of the car! Just like Eddie who is chuffed to be featured on your blog.
13th December 2007

OK so we all have a laugh at me asleep in the back seat - now everyone imagine a passed out Will Kruse waking up in the back of the night bus at INALA!!!!!!!!!!!
13th December 2007

Hey Booze!! Sounds like you're having a fab time! So wish I could have got over to see you (or vice versa) since you're so bloody close! Re the dragon thing, is it something to do with Oberstaufen being in Bavaria??
15th December 2007

Snow
Hey Susan :D I just arrived back from a week away with Mum and Dad in Coolum getting sun and sand lol. Quite the opposite of your trip. :P Good to see you actually have now seen real snow not just carpark snow Yay for Susan :D Sounds like you are having way to much fun. I am now home alone (don't count Grandad lol ) for a week :D So yeah enjoy your week. I will :) Loves Joshie :)
15th December 2007

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0678000/ press gang? i like google. anyway... snow is beautiful! thanks for the link to photos
17th December 2007

At Drast a Lagon
You are such a meanie Sus, but so darn funny. Glad to see that your funny bone isn't frozen :P Oh, and is the dragon comment in reference to St. Magnus - the monk who famously killed a dragon near Fussen by eating bread and making a sign of the cross? Or is it simply because the region was known for its dragons.. Or - is it a reference to TV. I daresay it is the latter of the three... Mind you, I have had nothing but success with the bread and praying thing. I have gained twelve kilos and there are no dragons in sight.
27th December 2007

hahahahahaha
Eddie doesn't look evil, he looks exhausted, poor guy! awwwww

Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.2122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb