July 7th - Skinheads, Pimps & Skinheads


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Nuremberg (aka Nürnberg)
July 18th 2012
Published: July 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Old Town wallThe Old Town wallThe Old Town wall

where many men with shaved heads congregate to smoke cigarettes and drink beer
July 7th: Er well that was odd, a bra was hanging from our door handle this morning (a nice pink and black lacey number), odd because our room was populated by 4 guys last night and I'm fairly sure that none of them pulled. I was going to lock it in our room or toss it in the sink to teach the smart arse responsible a lesson, but then I thought that the owner of the bra might herself have nothing to do with it being on our door and might be fretting about where it is so I just dumped it on a chair in easy sight.

Also odd; the sunburn on my arms is almost gone, but my neck is still glowing red and burning like the sun... lots of sunscreen today methinks!

The Nuremberg train was nice & easy to find and board (another point in the train vs plane competition). On the way to the train I spent the rest of my koruna (an amount equivalent to NZ$15) and got a huge filled roll, a coke and a couple of Czech CDs... don't know if they're any good but I've judged them by their covers,
Messed up freaky statueMessed up freaky statueMessed up freaky statue

death is having a party?
so we'll see.

The police in Poland and Prague scare me, they carry big sticks and guns!
Whoops, speaking of authority figures: the ticket collector told me and the other guy (Orlando) in the cabin that we were in FIRST class, he promptly led us down to an identical cabin and said "see, here... SECOND class" well now we know.

Lovely scenery around the Czech republic and Southern Germany, plains of golden fields, fields of sunflowers, extensive woodlands (some with people walking their dogs... or possibly vice versa), hilly areas and an array of towns both tiny and huge. One town had a factory with the name "Primus something" on the side of it but I was too slow with my camera. A lot of solar panels in this part of the country, good for them I approve!

Nuremberg is a nice looking city, and the hostel was easy to find (tick, tick). So uch food! Bratwurst left, right and centre, big buttered pretzels, and I went to the movenpick stand and got icecream; a fun mix of cranberry, cashew and a favourite of mine Stracciatella! The lady understood my limited German and I understood her limited
some straßesome straßesome straße

misc Nureberg shot
English so we got on fine and she gave me nice big scoops. I arrived here after 6pm so I'm fairly sure I can squeeye in a bit of sight-seeing... in fact that's what I'm doing RIGHT NOW!

Nuremberg is beautiful, a bit of that weird mix of lovely old bridges, churches and a castle on the one hand but crass modern stores on the other.

Well after my meander I have returned to do laundry. I have been wearing 2nd-round socks and undies for 3 days now and it's just not healthy. In order to clean everything I am wearing my one pair of long trousers (commando of course) and my black jacket, which is so warm that I have to wear it half undone, all of this giving me the appearance of being some horrible 80s pop/rock star... at least I have beer to keep me cool, hmmm beer... so while the washing is going, did you know that half the street my hostel is on is the redlight district? because I sure as hell didn't... I thought all the local girls had just got friendlier and sluttier all of a sudden but then I put 2 and 2 together and it added upto prostitutes and lots of them!
At this juncture I must philosophize/bitch about people in hostels... why must so many of them be inconsiderate fuckwits? I mean if I'm in the hostel late at night I'm aware of other people wanting to sleep so I regulate my noise levels accordingly, most don't seem to have that skill down. I mean is it an age thing? Like I'm 30 so I'm more considerate than a 20 year old? Or is it just that I'm awesome and they are all arseholes?

Advertisement



19th July 2012

on the freaky statue
search at Wikipedia for "Ship of Fools (satire)" to find the backgrounds
19th July 2012

Dankeschön
thanks for that, I've seen some quite... er odd looking statues, it's nice to know that at least some of them are explicable.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb