FINAL DAYS OF THE TRIP!! :(


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
January 20th 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 17

This morning we were woken up obnoxiously early because of the endless firetrucks going by outside, it was just ridiculous, I never even found out what happened either. This place had a pretty good breakfast, more croissants and nutella! YAY! And they had the multi fruit juice, god I wish I had that at home. They may have been good at breakfast, but they weren't too good at other things. We requested rooms all together and the rooms spanned 7 floors. Good planning guys, you had our reservation 4 months ago. They also had not great internet, and only in common areas again so it was one big giant party every night. They also screwed up the vending machine and one type of chocolate was only 10 cents instead of 1 Euro 50. Oops!

We left at nine today and had another walking tour. We saw some churches and some other places. At 11 we stopped back at the town hall to see the glockenspiel, in the winter they only do it at 11 and 12 daily. I'm glad I got to see it though! It was pretty cool, and I recorded the whole thing (well most of it, I thought it was over and it wasn't) but it was like 15 minutes, it would have taken up my whole memory card. Oh yeah, by the way, my camera fixed itself, I have no idea what happened.

Our next stop was the University that the Scholl siblings attended, they are known for passing out flyers about the evils of Hitler, at only my age! I found that really interesting. Unfortunately, we didn't get to see the actual memorial because it was under construction and there was stuff hanging over it. I took a picture anyway. :P

For lunch we went to Dean and Davids and I got a sandwich, it was okay, some bites better than others depending on the amount of sauce. After that, we went to this old art museum. That was really boring, I have no idea what I was supposed to learn from it. It was huge though and we only had to be there an hour. There were a lot of babies being breastfeed and weird things going on in the paintings. While we were in the gift shop though, there was this MASSIVE snowball fight happening in the yard, at least 50-75 kids. It was so awesome! I just had fun watching, I totally would have went out and took part in it had I had the time.

We ate dinner in the train station, because there were just a million places to eat, I got Chinese, sweet and sour chicken with lo mien, it was wicked good. I also tried this bratwurst, it was disgusting which is why I got the Chinese.

Today was the last day of class work! WOOT! WOOT!

Day 18

Paper meeting day! I got up in time for breakfast and then hung out in the lounge area for internet. I picked my paper topic which was good, I really wanted to do something with pain which was way too broad, but the professors really helped me narrow it down which was good. After that, I kept to myself for most of the day, I just needed some time alone, I wrote some journals, grabbed some food in the train station and called it a day. I hung out with Nick most of the day in the lounge trying to get him to rap again, he's actually pretty good, and wrote a rap called Nuremberg bathroom, which was really funny. I also tried to do a little shopping, but it didn't work out too well in my favor.

A bunch of people went over to Austria for the day which was pretty cool to see some sites from the Sound of Music, it would have been cool, but I've never seen the whole movie, soo I wasn't that interested.

I also got asked out in the elevator by this really creepy German guy. He was in the lounge with me and Dr. B and got up when I did and followed me to the elevator. He was supposed to get out on the first floor, but he didn't, he turned to talk to me basically when it was stopped and started speaking German, so I was like ummmm sprekenzie Anglish? And he was like English huh? Where you from blah blah blah. Then he was like my english is not very good, but want to go to get beer tonight? Thankfully this was my floor and I was like no thank you and got off the elevator. I felt bad, but he was like 30 and creepy. When I told Brandy she laughed at me because I was apparently wearing my “sexy shirt” that day, which she had told me earlier.

Day 19

Last Day! OH NO! I kept to myself again for most of the day again today, went out a little with the girls to do some shopping. We also all went out as a group to Hofbraurhaus Pub for dinner, even with Peter! I was in charge of inviting him, every one else was too afraid, it was silly. The pub was all in German again and it took ages to even be served! They only took 1 credit card per table and ugh it was kind of a disaster, but it was were Hitler first gave one of his “inspiring speeches” so it was related to the trip. There was a lot of beer on the table, but I don't like beer, one of my friends had beer and lemonade (sprite) though which wasn't too bad. Another friend had hot wine which was no good. I had ice cream for dinner, and split this delicious mac and cheese like dish that Rachel had on our first day in Berlin. Yum! The chocolate ice cream was like dark chocolate though and no good so Dr. B ended up finishing it for me, which I was fine with. I went home and packed and called it a night! Early day in the morning...

WELCOME BACK TO THE STATES!

This whole time, the plane tickets have been in alphabetical order so I sit with Dr. B if we don't switch seats, and on the way to London, we didn't, but Dr B. switched with Hayley on the way to JFK which was cool so I sat with Brittany and Hayley on the way back to the states! I'm gunna miss them! And all my new friends! Some of the other girls I was kinda friends with before became closer with me and were now mad that I was leaving for Australia. Especially Brandy, I had to say bye to her in London which was really sad. I got to know her really well since we were roommates and I didn't want to say goodbye and not wake up to her singing anymore 😞 I watched a few movies on the way home, but Brittany's tv wasn't working so I felt kinda bad so we talked a bit. She also used Hayley's Ipad to watch a movie so she was okay for some of the ride. Customs was really easy to get through since I hadn't been on a farm and didn't need to declare anything, plus there wasn't a line. I grabbed my luggage and said bye to most of my friends, some of my new ones just ran out of the airport to go home. Not cool guys. Monique was really sad that I was leaving, I almost felt like I was letting them down somehow. I'm gunna miss all my friends, I think it probably would have been easier to leave had I not been on this trip and gotten so close to so many more people. I also said bye to my friends parents that I knew well since they were there to pick up their kids. I on the other hand, had to go back through security and recheck my bag for my final flight home into Boston. I finally got home late at night and crashed.







END OF ADVENTURE #2!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb