Day 18 - Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
May 4th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

OK. As the astute among you may have noticed I kind of haven't blogged in 4 days. So...I'll publish them all now.

Munich. Wonderful city. I arrived at 6 in the morning after getting next to no sleep on the coach from Vienna. Ah well. I checked into my hostel at half 6, luckily someone was on duty. I then sat in the lounge area until about 10ish doying and reading.

At mhalf 10 I went on a free tour of the city in the cold. Why did it have to be cold? An interesting fact about the new synagogue in Munich is that you can't go in unless you can speak hebrew or hand in your passport 3 days in advance so that they can make sure that you're not a neo-nazi. This is because on the day of the grand opening neo-nazis tried to blow up the synagogue with important Jewish figures inside. The police stopped it just in time. Anyway after the tour I went up a church tower to see some amazing views of the city.

I then had a meander around a permanent market (which is massive). Very nice, but nothing really of any interest being sold.

I then spent the evening sitting downstairs in the hostel bar watching the united game.

Got an early night to catch up on sleep

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb