Sweden to Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
July 4th 2009
Published: May 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh the hangy wasnt soooo bad today!! Slept in till 830ish and the first thing i thought about was my stomach. I was ready for breakfast for sure. I think the buffet would be well worth it today. Especially at a third the price!! One thing I didnt even realize was that we were in a different time zone in Finland. We were an hour ahead of schedule that way, in my mind anyways!! I got myself dressed while all the others were still sleeping, Even Mr Russian who had been sleeping his lazy ass all night!!
Got to the buffet and it was packed as expected. I actually found a window seat amazingly enough put my stuff down and grabbed some coffee. Mikko was planning on showing up sooner or later so I saved him a seat, as long as I could find him in the masses of peoples.
Lots of fish, which I really wasnt used to in the mornings. I sampled it anyways. Probably took too much cause it was all I could taste after awhile. The beer tap was covered over and I was tempted to give it a whirl and see if there was any left for me!! I chickened out though, thinking that everyone was gonna witness this spectacle. There was lotsa fruit and eggs and all sorts of stuff. I ate myself soooo full. It was really wicked because as I mentioned yesterday I was planning on waking up early to witness this Archipelago. Well that never happened but we were still in the remenants of it and I got a wicked view during breakfast. So two birds one stone. Good job Andrew.
After we went back down to the cabin and got our stuff all sorted. Mikko was kind of nervous about riding the bike because he drank so much last night!! He actually went as far as taking a nurses administered alcohol test. He paid something like 6 Euro to do it as well. Hahahaha what a sucker. Turns out his level was zero so he was ok. Just without a few coins in his pocket. He was also nervous about how reliable the bike was gonna be. It was something like 10 years old, which was new to me but he was nervous. Spent some time on the deck just enjoying the sun with my rocker buddy. He was planning on meeting his bandmates at the terminal. I bought a bus ticket to Stockholm central, where I should have just asked him for a ride but I wasnt thinking that straight.
Packed up all my stuff and said goodbye to the guys as they left the room. The Russian dude was up and at em and it turns out he was with his wife and she was doing her hair in our bathroom!! Interesting, anyways i didnt need it. I sent a couple emails as people were leaving the ship and disembarked myself.
Took this bus outside the terminal, was one of the last people to actually fit on. I found out later that there was a train station that I could have taken for free!! Got downtown and looked for the first train to Berlin. Well after the 15 minute wait. There was no spots left to get to Berlin. So I made a plan B option right then and there to check out Munich!! Why not I wanted to see it later anyways. I had to wait an hour so I left the station to make the most of my time!! Some guy outside starts talking to me when he sees the backpack I have on and asks.....Could you tell me where a hostel is close by. I could tell he was French right away. He said that he didnt have any Swedish Krona so he wanted to walk if possible. I didnt know the city through and through but after a second of thinking about it I remembered, I stayed in a hostel in Stockholm not too far away. SO I said yah for sure and pointed it out to him on this computer cause the dumbass didnt have a map either. He was pretty happy about that. Who knows if he made it or not.
I didnt do too much. My plan was to get some good pics of Swedish women to have for the page. But as the saying goes, you never get what your looking for!!! Chilled by the water fountain most of the time and read about Munchen as the Crauts call it! I had to go through Copenhagen again to catch the night train to Munich.WOW ive been there a few times now.
Train came and I sat beside this lady trying to talk to clients the whole time and dropping the call in the hundreds of tunnels along the way. I also purchased internet for the ride to Copenhagen. Watched the Tour de France after I remembered the web page and talked to Sarah and a bunch of other people on Skype which was working great. The lady got pretty annoying after awhile. I kept loosing the internet connection when we stopped as well which was kind of weird.
Got to Copenhagen and had to find something to eat before my 30 min layover was over. I only had so many Krones left and I wanted to use them all. I ended up buying 6 cheese burgers and a mcflurry!! What a pig. I HATE cheeseburgers as well but that was the only thing that was ready. I saved 3 for dinner that night. So it worked out ok. Only thing I forgot was water.
Jumped on the train after I munched two of the burgers and the melting mcflurry. I gave the rest of my chump change to this bum dude sitting on the platform dazzing into the sky. I asked him if he was Danish. He was like YAH haha. So i just gave him what was left. Not like me either. The cabin was locked up at the start of the trip. I sat inside the restaraunt untill they kicked me out cause I wouldnt buy anything. I asked the conductor and he was conversing with his companion dude. They were chatting for a good ten mins and I actually got kicked out so I waited by the door of the room blocking the whole hallway with my ginormous bag. After tens mins or so they finally unlocked it. They asked me. You must have been late reserving this train. I told him yah I booked it like 3 hours ago or something. I geues they didnt know anyone was gonna be there that soon, so they werent prepared to open it. Dumbasses.
I was the only one in the cabin so I took advantage of it to stretch out my bones. Also I air dryed the old undies out the window!!!! HAHAHA they needed airing out for sure. I actually left em hanging by my seat for most of the trip, without anyone noticing. This older lady came on when we got to Odense. She was off to Munich for 2 weeks for her job and was also treating it as a vacation. She was amazed about my plans.
Later on a coule came on with a new born baby!!! Oh god I thought to myself. They folded up the baby stroller and threw it up on top over the doorway. Not too sure how much weight it can take but it seemed to work. MY bunk was right beside it though which was kind of a pain in the ass. The only thing on board the train was a tiny restaurant close to our cabin.
I finally broke down and bought a beer after we stopped to change the wires for the train in Germany. It was good I must admit. But at 3 Euro or whatever it had to be. I met a dude who asked me when we would be stopping at Dusseldorf. I had no clue. I just knew we would be in Munich around 9am. He asked me where I was from and I told him Canada. He was like ohhhh where Neil Young is from sounding like a big fan. He was in town just the other night!!! I was like oh yah thats right exactly.
After that nightcap I went back to the room did a bit of blogging and fell asleep in my tiny top bunk quarters. NIghty night


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb