Munich with Rainer


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
March 29th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

hello again. I'm now in Munich. Arrived yesterday by train from Darmstadt. Again I had a successful presentation at the University in Darmstadt and they basically offered for me to come there in 1 year if I wanted to. Before I left I walked around and took some cool pictures. I haven't transferred them from my camera yet so I'll upload them next time. This time I'm just writing text to give an update of where I am.
I'm staying with my friend Rainer in Munich. Last night he took me to a HUGE "strong beer festival", which is kind of like Octoberfest but in March. It was absolutely crazy (stay tuned for these photos too). There were hundreds of people all in a big hall, all drinking about 8% beer in 1 liter steins, and ALL dancing on the tables to a live band! It was great. People were also wearing the traditional Bavarian clothing (lederhose for the guys & dirndl for the girls). I managed to drink 2 beers (which is 2 liters!) and then I slept a long time last night 😊.
Today it looks like we're going to check out a place called "bmw world", which looks pretty cool (http://www.bmw-welt.com).
Its really nice to be staying in 1 city for awhile now. Traveling to the different Universities and giving talks and seeing demos and having to focus on research all week has been quite tiring. Now I get to relax a bit.
That's all for now. I'll upload some more photos of Darmstadt and the beer festival either later on today or tomorrow when I get internet access from the conference.
Tschuess! (that's basically "bye" in German).
Derek

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb