A few days in Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Munich was great. As soon as I stepped off the plane and felt the fall air that I’m so accustomed to in mid-September, I was smiling pretty much non-stop. I was only there for a weekend. It might sound crazy that I would fly to Germany just for two and a half days, but honestly, I don’t know if I would have stayed sane if I didn’t have that weekend away. September was a rough month getting adjusted here, and going to a place where I understood people and where I was more familiar with was much-needed.

There were two people I spent pretty much the whole time with while there. One was a girl from Germany, who I was roommates with my whole time in Switzerland. We stayed with her friend who lives right in Munich. The other girl was the one I met at the youth hostel I stayed in one night in Zurich (the one from Israel.) She was in Munich the same weekend I was, so all three of us hung out the whole time. It was great.

We went to the Oktoberfest parade, which was cool. It was very Bavarian and a lot of fun. We then went to the festival, full of people and food and rides… your standard huge carnival. We met some fun German guys there who were wearing Lederhosen.

Anyway, that’s that. I was dreading coming back to Istanbul, and was right to feel that way. However, luckily, since then, my time here has improved quite a bit, and I’m starting to understand the people and the city here. It’s made me stronger, to say the least.

Here are the Munich pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb