A Very Quick One


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick one from Roho since I've got a bit of time...

Richard's hand flared up again while we were here in Munich - and the German medical system is much more efficient than the Czech Republic's! In about three hours yesterday we saw a few doctors, had an X Ray and blood tests. None of which showed up anything, but the gaggle of doctors, students and nurses gathered around the X Ray decided to at least treat the symptoms (pain and swelling).

This involved wrapping the hand in alcohol soaked bandages and supporting the whole forearm on a sort of half cast thing. Richard can keep taking painkillers and keep pouring alcohol on the top - it's apparently cooling and soothing and take the cast off when the symptoms disappear (what about when they return?) so it's off to St Johann in Tirol (Austria) today on his birthday.

Meanwhile I'm up early because I found bed bugs in my bed when I woke up too early this morning. It's a travelling hazard and the reason all hostels insist you use their bedding when you stay. Everywhere has warnings and how to recognise them, with assurances there's no need to be paranoid, but the number of dirty, drunken, travelling boys who don't bother making their beds and just sleep on them as they are - bare mattress, naked duvet, naked pillow, has been bothering me for a while.

So of course I leapt out of bed, down to reception and here I am. It is now in fact time to get up though so that's it for my quick update!

Love,

Roho

xx

Advertisement



20th June 2008

Bed Bugs
Must have been a far better class of traveller when I went around Europe, not a bed bug in sight (or maybe I was drinking too much to notice them!!) Please wish the one arm bandit Happy Birthday, all the best people have their birthdays at this time of the year, I can think of at least 8 other people with birthdays 20, 21, 22 June including moi tomorrow.
20th June 2008

Born Day
Many Happies Richard. Although it doesn't sound like you're having a happy time with the cast on your arm. All the best for your 'Born Day' anyway.
20th June 2008

Harpy Birthsday!
I know I've already sent you a text this morning but here we go again: *sings* Harrppyy Biirrrthsdddaaayyyyy toooo yooouuuuu!! Have fun in Austria and take care of your hand. Love big Sis x
20th June 2008

Happy Birthday Richard. Are the German beer steins too heavy or something?
21st June 2008

Cheating
Hey Ro Rick It was so good to talk to you yesterday. I know it's sort of cheating but I was having withdrawals! I hope the rest of your day, (birthday), was a memorable one. Molly says Hi as does Robbo. When in Venice can you find me a small piece of yellow venetian glass? Was going to hint but thought I should just ask outright!!! Cheeky eh. Lisa got me a green piece, when she was there, to wear round my neck, so thought I could have an unmatching pair. Birthday money going into your Visa on Wednesday. How much you ask? Surprise! Rick, hope your hand is feeling better. Forget not drinking beer, drink as much as possible it kills the pain in your hand and moves to your head. At least your not thinking about your hand then! Gotta go have gardening to do. Can't wait to see more photos!!!!! Love and hugs Mum xxxxxxxx
22nd June 2008

The venetian glass...
Oh, I so luuurrrvvveee Venice even though it is quite touristy. Get the public boat to Murano - the glass island where I got the green necklace for Mum. I can't remember the name of this small glass jewellery shop and who knows if it's still there. This store was small, quirky and had a wooden theme (wooden walls). Some of these necklaces were already displayed in cute brown recycled boxes. Hell, there are glass stores everywhere on this island so no point in me trying to explain where I got it exactly. I've sent you an email with a picture of Mum wearing it so, check it out and see if you can get a similiar one. If you don't have time to visit Murano, then I'm sure there are a few glass shops in Venice. Lurrvv big Sis. x

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb