The vacation before my vacation


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 22nd 2005
Published: October 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Germany

Munich, Berlin, Mainz

Ok, here is my first update. I left from Boston for Munich on September 22nd and today October 22nd, and I am still here in Munich. Oops, it seems like I have forgotten the “world” part of the “world trip”.

I am really thinking about how I will ever leave. It is just so great here... two of the coolest, most generous, people ever, Sylvie and Vincent, are letting me stay at their place. A palace with my own room, high speed wireless internet, great people and perfect location.

As soon as I got off the plane I headed into town for the first of 6 times at the Oktoberfest. I hope the pictures express how much fun it is, because my words are inadequate. It is just a lot of people having GOOD fun - drinking a bit, meeting some new people, singing and dancing on the benches. My official last day of work was for the company Oktoberfest outing... What a way to leave the company!

After 2 and a half years living in Munich I never ended up seeing a soccer game here. Due to another great friend, Christian invited me to go to FC Bayern Munchen vs. Wolfsburg game in my old company’s VIP seats! (the company which keeps on giving) The game was good, but the free drinks, free food and first class service were probably the highlight. It was actually great to see how crazy all of the fans are and how they get totally involved.

Of course I had to take a small trip into the mountains to see them again. We - Jean Anton(Catalan), Santi(Spanish), Margot(Irish), and Stefan(French) - when drove to a lake called the Plansee right across the German boarder in Austria. It was a beautiful day for a walk around the lake... ok we only walked half was around the lake and took the boat back.

I did get out of the Munich for about a week going to visit Hannah in Berlin and “Family Hay” in Mainz. It is my fifth visit so I mostly just took random walks around the city and went out at night. One new thing was the Holocaust Memorial, the scale of which was very impressive, I recommend checking it out. And right next to it, you can see where they are finally building the US Embassy after years of delays.

Then I went to Mainz, my second home in German, to see the family - Steffen, Kelly and little Collin Hay. Steffen and I went to see a Mainz soccer game. I liked how the visitors section is totally caged off from the rest of the fans and from the field. Maybe that is normal??? But then because Mainz was winning, security kept on growing around that section. Then after the game the police were out in full riot gear. Add like all trips to Mainz, at least one night ends taking the 5am bus back home - Steffen is unstoppable! It is a good that Kelly had a homemade pot of Chili at home ready to cure our hangover.

Otherwise for the last month I have been basically been spending my time catching up on emails, organizing finances, relaxing... and a bit going out and having fun with my friends here. But now I am fully rested and ready to move on. It is also getting a bit expensive here.

My plans right now are to drive to Valencia, Spain next Wednesday. I guess I will update this after that. Christian #2 (aka. Jimmy) is moving back there so I am hitching a ride.

Send me comments on how I can improve the content of this blog... I am an engineer - not a poet. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb