Munich - Day 2


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Found my way to the Tourist Office and organised to take a city tour. On the bus I met an American couple, Kay and Bill, and asked them if they could email me some photos of the city that they took, explaining why I didn't have a camera. They were a very friendly couple, and had been touring Eastern Europe for 3 weeks. Hopefully they will email some photos when they return home.It was another freezing cold day, so much colder than even a Canberra winter day!Our tour took us to many great sights, I've decided that taking a city tour is a great way to get your bearings in a city and then this allows you to explore the city at your own pace at a later time.I didn't realise that much of Munich had been destroyed in WW2 , and then rebuilt in the same style. What a great achievement!!I managed to figure out the underground train system very quickly. It's a really efficient and quick way to get around the city (and warmer!), although Munich is very flat and a relatively easy city to walk around. Marienplatz is the main pedestrian area and is a really interesting polace with lots of old buildings and churches. St Peter's Church was beautiful, I went inside to escape the cold. The artwork on the ceiling was lovely. Churches should really be museums I think!The Viktualienmarkt was really interesting with many stalls and shops selling meats, cheeses, wine, beer, seafood, flowers. It's a great place to get your appetite working. The smells are fantastic!The Church of Our Lady was built in the 1400's, something that we just don't have at home in Australia. We are such a young country in comparison.The Nymphenburg Castle is huge and set in beautiful park grounds. It was a gift to a Princess from her husband in 1664 after she gave birth to a son. Can you imagine that...........I have 3 sons, and no castle!!! HeheheheheOktoberfest finished a couple of weeks ago, and we were told that 6.1 million visitors drank 6.7 million litres of beer in 2 weeks!The people in Munich are very friendly, and dress very fashionably, but are somewhat more sedate than the Italians and Spanish!! Maybe it has something to do with the cold weather ?I had a Bavarain sandwich for lunch which was very tasty. It was really nice bread, almost pastry like, but not quite, and was filled with cold meats, mustard, tomatoes and lettuce. It was very nice but very filling.I finally found a shop that sold a charger for my old camera, so hopefully tomorrow I will be able to add some photos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb