Oktoberfest


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 15th 2006
Published: November 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PROST! Well its been my first week here in Germany. This week also happens to be the opening of the Oktoberfest festival.. and who was I to resist a weekend trip to Munich to visit the world famous festival. I took a train from Karlsruhe to Munich to meet my friend Jaymie, another Aupair from Canada living in Munich. The first night we got there we went to Hofbrau Haus a famous Beer Hall in Munich. It was the night before the Oktoberfest began and it was very very crowded. I have to say a visit to this Beer Hall is a must for those visiting Munich.. It is packed with tourists, and locals, singing songs, dancing, and drinking huge steins of Beer. We met a lot of people from Australia and hung out with them for the night, and after Hofbrau Haus went to a small club called Americanos. The next morning we awoke bright and early for the opening of Oktoberfest.. There was a sea of people, I have never seen a place so crowded in my life! We quickly lined up for the Hofbrau Tent.. we waited around 2 hours and didnt even get in. MAKE RESERVATIONS IF YOU PLAN TO GO TO OKTOBERFEST!!! It is extremely busy and tents fill up FAST.. We walkeed around and still couldnt find a spot for quite some time. We ended up going into the city for lunch and then back during the evening for Oktoberfest where we found a spot and had a couple steins with some German people. The next day we went to Oktoberfest again and walked around.. it was very busy so we went back to Hofbrau Haus. It was a really fun time, however I think if I ever find myself there again I will make sure I have reso's!
😊Krista



Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb