Update


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen
December 2nd 2011
Published: December 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, sorry for the late update. They have been keeping us really busy. Today marked the end of orientation. I have the weekend off and then we train for two days. I will be an equipment issuer. I have a really cool roomie named Jack. He’s from St. Louis and graduated in international business. Everyone else here is really easy to get along with. I have never clicked so well with so many people. It feels like I have died and gone to heaven…except I don’t have jacket. I ordered one from Nordstrom and it should be in soon. The PX here is tiny and crummy so I have to buy everything I need either online (expensive) or with Euros (very expensive). It has been a “warm” winter so far here. The coldest it has been is in the mid-30s at night. They say that it gets negative pretty often in the middle of winter. There is also no snow. This is the longest it hasn’t snowed since 1929. They had the best season that year so we’re hoping for that to happen again. The beer here is really cheap. They don’t sell it by the case; they sell it by the milk carton because the bottles are huge. The second day we found a beer warehouse and each bought a carton. The locals almost crashed their cars laughing at us. It all cost 12.50 Euros after you return the carton with empties. They just set up Christmas here and everything is gorgeous. I went to the farmer’s market today and bought some deer sausage. They have the farmer’s market three days a week here. We all got credit union accounts and military ID’s and mailboxes. Mine is:

Jesse Lassiter

Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

CMR 409 Box 93

APO AE 09053-0093

Tomorrow, Jack and I are going to hike some crazy tall mountain and I’ll take some pictures and put them on the blog. The female to male ratio is the icing on the cake here. Everyone is so interesting and the girls are real and pretty. I wish I could speak more German because this small town is big enough to be expensive if you don’t know where to go. I found a place called the Salatbar and they serve soup, salad, and bread for 3 Euros. I found a bar too called Pub 33. It’s an Irish Pub. The German bars are all stupid dance clubs. The Churches are very limited here and they make us work on Sundays.



Well, I have laundry to do. Because I’m terrible at travel writing please, please ask questions!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb