Arrival


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen » Zugspitze
November 28th 2011
Published: November 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have made it safely. The flights over here weren't too bad. Once I landed it was 'hurry up and wait' for the next half day. I live in "the shining" (as in the horror movie) part of the living quarters, so named because this was the psychiatric ward when it was a Nazi hospital. This might explain why I am up at 1 AM local time writing this blog. I went to sleep around 8 and now I am ready for my first day.

The group I am with is full of hard core skiers and adventurers. I am the only one from the south. Apparently we are the envy of the rest of the staff because we have such a glamorous job. I went out with some veterans this evening and they were accommodating and friendly.

The weather here is perfect: cold enough to visit road-side sheds that sell hot-totties every hour or so. Downtown is filled with shops and restaurants only a few of which are pizza hut and McDonalds. I really need to learn German. I feel so ignorant just smiling and asking the self-deprecating question, “English?”

I made a deal with some folks to cook breakfast as they will cook the rest of the meals. Eating out here is very expensive and time consuming so I will be spending a lot of time in the kitchen.

That about sums it up for now. I’ll be really busy this whole week but will be available to skype as soon as Friday or Saturday. My id is Jesse.ray6.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb