Day 3d- The Remains of the Day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Fussen
December 13th 2006
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I catch the bus, which will drop me at Echeisbruke again, where I will have a 1 hour wait on the connecting bus to Fussen. I dig out my "other" gloves, because I know that with the darkness that is falling, and the temperature already dropping, it will be a cold wait. As we make our way, I see Wies Church on a small hill - so, I didn't get to go inside, but I did at least see the outside of it - as tired as I am, I am satisfied with that.

We arrive at the bus stop a few minutes before 5:00. My next bus is scheduled to leave at 6:05. There is one gentleman who also gets off at this stop, and he proceeds to pull out what appears to be dinner as he waits on his connecting bus. This is also a park and ride lot, and there is a small beer garden at the back of the lot. I can see inside, and think about going in where it is warm, but then will need to probably eat or drink something and I'm really not in the mood. The "tired" has set in now, and I am just ready to be at the hotel. The man's bus arrives and he boards and is off, and now I am alone at this bus shelter. The location is somewhat isolated, very dark except for the few street lights around the parking lot. This is a little intimidating. About every 5 - 10 minutes a car pulls in, and the passenger heads into the beer garden. Always a male, this must be the after-work watering hole. I duck into the bus shelter to avoid the slight breeze that is blowing, and a utility truck pulls in and stops. I hear someone get out, take a few steps and stop. Now I am not moving, because at this point I don't want anyone to know that I am a lone female in this shelter. I sit very quietly and then hear water hitting the ground.....then footsteps and into the beer garden. I guess they don't have toilets in there. A few more cars pull in, a few more sounds of water hitting the ground.....guess it is the local custom to relieve yourself outside before refilling inside. The second time it happened I was laughing and had a hard time being quiet. This happened 4 times as I sat and waited. My bus finally arrives, and not soon enough - I am so cold, and at this point have wrapped the scarf that was around my neck now around my entire head and pulled up my hood. I get on the bus and who do I see, but the same lady that had boarded my bus early in the morning, with the basket on wheels. It is now full, so I guess she got her shopping done.

I arrive in Fussen and to my hotel at 7:00, and head to the restaurant for dinner. Tonight I'm not feeling adventurous, so I opt for a meal of hash rounds with sliced tomatos and melted mozzerella, with a small side salad of baby greens. I did have dessert - which turned out to be crepes drizzled in chocolate with fresh whipped creme, very good, but probably 2 crepes more than what I wanted - there were 4. But, I did have a few bites with my coffee, then headed up to pack and get ready to go to Salzburg in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb