Day 1a - I Arrive in Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Fussen
December 11th 2006
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Munich a bit early at 7:33 am local time. Delta's business class service (thanks again, honey, for the FF miles) provided the comfort needed to catch a few hours sleep during the 8 1/2 hour flight from Atlanta.

I was one of the first in line at German customs, only 2nd in line, so I made my way through quickly and retrieved my bag. An interesting sight on the baggage carousel - a very large stone statue of a head was attached to the belt. At first I thought this must be some kind of museum piece, and then I realized, there were advertisements all over it. Turns out, it was a divider so you could spot where the "beginning" and end of the baggage was occurring, to help you spot your bag more easily. Funny sense of humor these Germans have.

Navigating through the Munich airport (flughafen) is pretty easy, and from my previous visit remembered my way to the subway stop under the terminal. I made a quick stop at the Deutsch Bahn counter to check for an earlier train to Fussen, and learned that the tracks were being worked on, so I would need to hop off the train and take the last few miles to Fussen by bus. Yes! There is an earlier train! But, I learn that the tracks are being serviced just short of Fussen, so I will need to take a less direct route - with a hop through Munich-Pasing, a change in Bushing, and the last few miles by bus.

Rail service in Germany is excellent. For that matter, all public transportation in Germany is excellent. There are times when some of the more busy routes will be a few minutes late. My last trip here taught me to plan that the train you are on will arrive a few minutes late, while the train you will catch next will be on time. So, I guet to hop a bit more than what I had intended, but I'm on vaction and am traveling light - so who cares!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb