And I thought they were insulting me...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Augsburg
June 22nd 2009
Published: June 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Insult revisited?Insult revisited?Insult revisited?

"Wiener Blut", a bargain at 20 cents.
The first picture is a photo from the "Floh Markt" (flea market) I recently attended and took part in in Augsburg. We can see that our fine neighbour is selling his favourite old record, "Wiener Blut", and I am sure he is devastated to part with it. Somewhat translated, it means "Wiener Blood", which almost sounds like a kiddie death metal band. But "Wiener" of course is the translation of "Viennese", that is, from Vienna.
And the people on the cover certainly do appear to be distinguished Viennese, the "Viennese Blood", through and through.

Which got me thinking: why did I take so offence when I was taunted as a "wiener" so often by my childhood classmates (well, childhood, teenagehood and early-to-midadulthood)? I took it to be the vulgar interpretation of the word, or, at best, a reference to the much-maligned lunchtime dish. I really should have been proud to be "Wiener", and to be associated with a rich culture, beautiful architecture and even a UNESCO World Heritage Site. I should be happy to have a touch of the wiener blood...

The second photo is from, believe it or not, (and you should, because I have not lied to
SurfenSurfenSurfen

Surfing in Munich: Ich will nicht tot sein.
you yet that I can think of off the top of my head), Munich. It is possible to surf there in the Englischer Garten. Pretty cool. I didn't try it out because I was afraid of, well, death. It looks difficult. And although I once participated in a five day surfing camp that mostly involved me being thrashed about savagely in the waves like some kind of drunken rat in a washing machine, I wasn't about to try my luck here. Not in front of all those hip Germans who might have thought I was a wiener.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb