The day the ATM ate my debit card!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Adelsried
August 11th 2017
Published: August 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today is friday. Wake up to rain and more rain. The kind that you just want to stay in bed with the

covers over your head.

But that won't do, so a coffee or maybe two coffee's will get us started.

So about noon or so we decide to go to the closest village to get fuel and

replenish our euro (money) supply. I park near a gas station and go inside

to ask where a ATM might be. There was one next door. In I go. There were

two machines of which one was being used. I put my debit card in just like I

had done at the airport in Frankfurt. Only this time no info on what to do next.

So I try to eject my card. #%&÷*^¥€ ? NOT COMING OUT! Oh oh. Some people

are there. No english speakers. Gloria's in the car a half a block away. She does not

know where I am. A few Germans shrug there shoulders and leave. Only a lady who

tries to help by using her cell phone to call a number on the machine. No answer.

Finally someone who speaks english. Question. What bank is it on? I tell them a USA

credit union. The answer , can't help you. A large man comes in. The nice lady asks him.

He's no help either but he tells her there is a bank who owns this machine about 15 min away.

If this was Saturday I would be TOAST? She (the nice lady with the phone) did I tell you she was a Russian

national? Now I am colluding with the RUSSIANS!. ? She will take me to this bank in her car. It was so small

you would wear it, not drive it. I said in my best german." Mine frau is In the auto for the last hour. She does

not know where I have gone. I get her and we all squeeze into the minicar. Off to the bank. Closed for lunch.

finally open and someone speaking english. He looks up on how to break into the machine to rescue my debit card.

He will drive to the robber machine. the nice lady will take me there and Gloria will stay as ransom at the bank.

The story has a happy ending. I get my debit card back. I get Gloria back and I get away with colluding

with the Russians.

The End sorry no pictures today

I should have taken a picture of the debit card robbing machine. But maybe I would be in trouble for something else.

Always Lowell

Advertisement



11th August 2017

To funny!!!
11th August 2017

Nooooooo
I can't imagine the horrible feeling of being in a foreign country and having you money source stolen by the money machine!!! Mike and I once took "the vacation that wasn't supposed to be". I hope that's not what's happenin'.
12th August 2017

Wow what excitement! Glad you got your card back!
13th August 2017

atm robber
Enjoyed you wit. Glad all turned out ok. Enjoying MY vacation with you through YOUR blogs and pics. No important mail. Stay safe....and healthy. love and hugs

Tot: 0.676s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb