Finding the girl's ancestors in the museum of Evolution


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Stuttgart
January 6th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After the Mercedes museum we had to do the long walk back to the station to take the train to the other museum. We actually wanted to go to the dinosaur museum where Ute told us there was the remains of the only pregnant dinosaur in the world. I wanted to see this as I was always under the impression that dinosaurs hatched from eggs and were not born alive, but no go for that as we ended up in the wrong museum. Kris was not too thrilled as the dinosaur museum was her choice. Kee also really wanted to go to the hot springs spa called Mineralbad along the way, but I said that it was too cold and that they would catch a cold going from one extreme temperature to another and besides they did not have their swimsuits.

The Natural Science Museum was actually quite enjoyable (well I enjoyed it more than the Mercedes Museum). We then took the train back to Stuttgart main station(hautbahnhof) where we wanted to climb the 12 storey station tower. The tower and the station building are city landmarks and I thought it warranted a visit and I was right - it was lovely. The tower had a large rotating Mercedes Benz insignia at the top. The girls took the lift to the top, but I climbed up all those stairs. It was a lot of stairs to climb and they were very narrow and a bit scary, so this was my adrenaline rush for the day. it was very cold at the top of the tower but the view and the climb were worth it. I liked it!!

We also managed to get a feel for the city from here. Stuttgart ia a big city with a small town atmosphere. It is a clean city with beautiful old buildings and friendly people. South African visitors prepare yourselves for some small cultural differences...the Germans will patiently wait at a pedestrian crossing even when no traffic is coming, until the green man comes on. When we just crossed once or twice, we were rewarded with funnny stares.

Back at Ute's place, we decided to do some shopping for dinner. We went to the butchery to buy some meat. Three pieces of chops cost about R230 and when I cooked it, it tasted nasty just like the meat in India. Now I know why I was sticking to chicken!!! I also managed to unconsciously pay R30 for one apple, only realising this when I returned to the house, but I was so craving fruit after all the rich chocolate and heavy pastries I've been eating since we arrived in Europe, so we really savoured that apple.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

She's crazy this one-a photograper saw herShe's crazy this one-a photograper saw her
She's crazy this one-a photograper saw her

and just starting shooting pics of her


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb