Mainz, Heidelberg, and Fasching


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Heidelberg
February 28th 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm late....I'm late....for a very important date....no time to say hello....goodbye...I'm late! I'm late I'm late! It has been a while since my last Blog and a lot has happened between now and then. I will begin with Mainz and Heidelberg.
Mainz: (see video as well)
When I went there they were celebrating Karnival BIG TIME! I loved it. I got to hear tons of marching bands and see tons of costumes! Including a tiger. (; I loved our tour guide. He is an older gentlemen and very sincere. He almost cried when talking about a church with a Jewish history. He reminds me of my Grandpa, whom I love so dearly!!!
One of my favorite aspects of Karnival is the affect it has on people. Everyone, including the adults, dress up. The whole town pretty much takes off work. Most of the streets are blocked off. When I went into a bar, the employees were dressed up in costumes, the music was loud, and all of the people were singing and dancing. Everyone was in a good mood! It makes me wish adults in the U.S. could loosen up a bit more...I mean if the Germans can do it...JK. (To all of the Germans reading this...especially the ones who will quote me later....you know who you are :P )

Heidelberg:

What a beautiful place. The whole feel of this city is different then most and it is SO pretty. In this lovely town, we got the benefit of seeing a Student Jail, castle, and an old bridge. The student jail really cracked me up. If students in the university were "misbehaving" they would get put into the student jail...of course all of the boys made it their goal to be in there just once. The castle is gorgeous with a gorgeous view. (see pictures) The bridge was amazing, as well. This time there was an accordion player and a clarinet player. A part of Heidelberg I didn't see was the philosophers way...it's on my list of things I still want to do. Apparently, Heidelberg also houses the beer with the highest alcohol content (according to Guinness book of world records). I didn't have any but I do know some people that did! :P

Fasching:

Fasching is basically an excuse to dress up. I dressed up as a Flapper. It is a new one to add to my list. It's like 2 Halloweens. It was fun seeing everyone in costume. Also, if someone wears a tie during Fasching , supposedly your allowed to cut the tie off...Sadly, I didn't get the opportunity. 😞

Well, that's all for now. Tune in next time to hear about Tübingen.



Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb