Hit and Run Performances, Finding Work in Freiburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Freiburg
December 3rd 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kaiser-Joseph StrasseKaiser-Joseph StrasseKaiser-Joseph Strasse

The main shopping street in Freiburg.
My time so far here in Freiburg has been very fun and interesting. Meeting lots of interesting people, hanging out in coffee shops, working on some dance performances, going running, walking around the city. Some exploring of the Black Forest, which surrounds Freiburg.

My ‘savings’ from working in France has been disappearing much faster than I had anticipated, and as a result I have a very low budget right now. About a week ago it occurred to me that I might need to make some extra money somehow, so I began looking for work.

Monday I got up early and hit the streets with the intention of getting a job. I had heard from friends who live here in Freiburg of an office that connects students in need of short-term or part-time employment to employers who are in a pinch and need extra labor. Most of the work, I was told, was random jobs like painting or moving things or landscaping, dishwashing or cleaning, those types of jobs. And I was told that because of the short-term and spontaneous nature of these jobs, they hired people without work permits and paid them ‘under the table.’ Now there is a politics behind what I was trying to do, and the discussion could be had whether it is fair or legitimate for me to do this or whether I am ‘cheating the system’ or what have you……..but in this moment I was/am simply looking for a bit more money to ease my travels a bit, and get me through the next couple of weeks.
The two job office visits were unsuccessful. I was told that since I don’t speak German there was nothing they could do because all of the employers they work through are German speakers. As I was buying some apples in the market near the big cathedral, I saw a building that said ‘Centre Culturelle Francaise,’ French Cultural Center. So after paying for my apples, I walked in to check it out.
I had a nice conversation with the woman working the desk in the center but was unable to get a job or any helpful advice in finding one. Although most Freiburgers speak French, there are not many French enterprises or businesses in Freiburg.

Since then I have visited four Irish Pubs, two other bars/restaurants, and ‘The Fitness Company,’ a gym and fitness center that I
Freiburg from aboveFreiburg from aboveFreiburg from above

A shot of Freiburg from a hill above the city, the beginning of the Black Forest. I have yet to figure out why it is called 'BLACK' Forest.
joined for the week that remains here in Freiburg. I arranged a meeting with the Promotions office there to discuss the possibility of flyer-ing for them, but was again told that I do not speak German and thus could not get a job.

**note to mom and dad (and grandparents): don’t worry. I am not that low on money. I have plenty of food and a nice bed to sleep in. If I were truly desperate, I would call you and let you know. ☺ **

So I am jobless. But ‘if I am ever back in town and learn German’ (the response I got from almost everyone), then I have lots of interesting contacts……..


Hit and Run Perfromance

One of the elements of the PVC (Physical Virus Collective) group that Tommy is a part of is what they call “Hit and Run” performances. The Hit and Run performance has a simple structure: the performance is set in someone’s house, somewhere in or around Freiburg. The venues are decided ahead of time, but the performers (two or three are chosen for each performance) do not set foot in the space until they arrive on the
On the RoadOn the RoadOn the Road

took a ride out into the country on the cycle. Gas is expensive over here!
night of the performance. They are only given pictures of the space.
Each Hit and Run is allowed three six-hour rehearsals, which means that the performers only have six hours in total to create a one-hour performance piece.
The performers arrive at the house/venue on motorcycles (two motorcycles, two drivers, two performers), perform, then hop on the motorcycles and drive off. Thus the title, ‘Hit and Run.’



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hit and RunHit and Run
Hit and Run

A crew in a VW Golf arrive early to set up the lights and sound for the show (yes, this is the performance space. smaller than a bedroom.)
LightsLights
Lights

Installed in the 'bedroom,' a loft above the main room of this small two-room art studio/flat.
ArrivalArrival
Arrival

The whole thing is filmed by the guy in the bionic camera suit.
DepartureDeparture
Departure

time to go......


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb