Blame It All On My Roots


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Black Forest
May 31st 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

For the first time ever today, I had a real look at part of my heritage. It was very cool to see where my family really came from. That's not something that people get to see everyday, and a feeling of warmth that is only present when in the situation.
I began the day with a short run. By short, I mean about 9 to 10 minutes short. HA! Better than nothing right!
Then we made our way to the 5 star hotel/resort in the midst of the Black Forest. We first got a nice tour of the entire place! Wow, it was much bigger than expected, and much more heavily decorated on the inside than on the out. The employees there work very differently. First of all, they do not get paid much! Not much at all! Secondly, the impression that I got was that they work 11-12 hour shifts, to make sure that they are getting all of their work done and so forth. They also do not get very many breaks from work. While most people in the German culture get a little break on Monday, the hospitality staff in Germany does not. Yow, it seems like a rather perk-less job, one that I would not care to be a part of (but I would love to be a visitor of!) :D The thing that I thought was rather different and very thoughtful was that there was a building for restaurants, and a building for where the guests stay. The one restaurant building is also open to the public, while the ones where the guests stay is only open for the guests. I like how the breakfasts are included in the price of the overnight stay, and that a group of guests will have the same waiter throughout the entire stay in order to make it feel "more like home." The decor was very heave, but very beautiful. There was a lot of wood, and a lot of red and green going on! Lunch was by far the best food!... Well, I wont say by far, but I will say that it was the best! nom nom nom!
We then stopped for some coffee, and then later we went to Baden Baden and ate our black-forest cake.
When back at the Chateau we were in for another excursion, a bike ride to the local market. Getting there, not that bad, getting home with bags of groceries was a little more difficult!
We polished off the night with a little wine, and then I was exhausted and put myself into bed.

Explains why this blog is so uninteresting. Boo 😞 So sorry!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb