Marseille Was Not That Much


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
September 25th 2013
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.2983, 5.38322

This morning we started out in two vans at 8:30, first traveling to Aix-en-Provence. The Romans were here many centuries ago because of the water underground. We felt water in a fountain in the city and it was warm water straight out of the ground and there were many more in the area. We walked through the old town area. Our group of 6 stopped for some coffee and then back in the vans toward Cassis, A very tiny and ancient fishing port. But first we went to the top of a bluff overlooking the village and the sea, supposedly the tallest bluff in Europe. After this photo, we headed down the mountain to Cassis.

This was a cool little town right on the water. We bought tickets to go out in the bay on a boat, then bought a sandwich and ate right on the wharf until 1:30pm when we boarded the boat and as you know; Mom likes boats! We took it out to see Calanques, steeped-walled coves with tiny harbors or beaches at the end. We returned in an hour and then headed back to the ship as our tour for 7 hours was complete. We would
Cat pillowsCat pillowsCat pillows

Here's Mom looking at some pillows with cats on them. She didn't buy.
have liked to stay a little longer in Cassis but our time was up. The actual town of Marseilles was not that much and all the action was outside the second largest city in France.

Resting up for a few minutes, we ate a small dinner in the buffet, went to a singer show, booked a future cruise for a great deal and then to the Mediterranean Ball on the Lido at 9. Leaving early, we headed back down and to bed. Tomorrow is Mom's favorite, a restful sea day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Typical barTypical bar
Typical bar

They're drinking coffee at this time in the morning.
Candy storeCandy store
Candy store

Karen liked it.
Top of cliff overlooking CassisTop of cliff overlooking Cassis
Top of cliff overlooking Cassis

That's as close as she would get to the edge.
What cliff?What cliff?
What cliff?

I told Mom to shoot me with the town down below. I said, "Can you see the town and how far down it is?" She said yes but as you can see, you need to use your imagination.
Pier at CassisPier at Cassis
Pier at Cassis

Nice place
We bought sandwich hereWe bought sandwich here
We bought sandwich here

Right across from pier.
CassisCassis
Cassis

Shot of the town. This is just the wharf street.
On the boat heading to the CalanquesOn the boat heading to the Calanques
On the boat heading to the Calanques

Mom likes the boat. The water was a little rough out in the ocean but not in the coves.
Boat harbor Boat harbor
Boat harbor

For residents in the town
In the Calanques In the Calanques
In the Calanques

People are climbing up the canyon walls. Note the beach down at the end.
Ship theaterShip theater
Ship theater

It's empty now but here's where we go to the shows


26th September 2013

Hey Karen n Big Al it looks like the party is almost over for you two enjoy what is left of it Cindy,s health is bad her blood suger is reading 300 on a daily basics and she is exercising n eating right e
ach day I am worried she has a bigg problem wt her pancress it will b nice to see you when you get home. let me know if you need A RIDE .. My job told me Tuesday afternoon that they were selling my Castro Valley route to another Driver that had failed on 2 other Routes and that I was out or I would have to go to San jose I thought about it for I day and told my boss this company was screwing me After I worked 90 hour work weeks 4 four months !am to 3..30 everyday I have not had a day off since june 10th this company sucks I told them to take a hike and turned in my keys yesterday. I am tired Karen I just could not be disrespected like this anymore the bread business is brutal I need a break today is my first full day off in 4 months I am glad its over I am tired anyway I will see you soon.
27th September 2013

I can't wait til you come home! I miss you guys soo much! MUAHHHHHH
27th September 2013

hahaha I Love You Gma!
27th September 2013

You Make Me Smile GMA!!! :)

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb