On the Road in Epone, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
May 6th 2015
Published: May 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

This morning I was up early and out the door to catch the 7:35 train to the Rome airport. I flew to Paris and left the airport in my rental car. Actually it isn't a rental, it's a lease from Renault. The lease agreement includes unlimited mileage and complete insurance coverage. I will have the car for almost a month. It is a black, rather sporty, Clio 4GT. I expect I will get used to it before too much longer, but in the meantime I have a learning curve to follow. My only stop before the hotel in Epone, France was to the church in Poissy where King Louis IX was baptized. He went on to become the only French king ever to be made a saint and St. Louis, Missouri is named for him, among other places in the world. I stopped to see the baptismal font as a sort of pilgrimage because I have already visited the site of his death in Carthage, Tunisia and will later visit the site of his coronation in Reims, France. (I will try to include a picture of the baptismal font, but it may not work because of the poor internet connection here.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.469s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb