Finally in Cannes!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
July 4th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Let's just say the beginning of my journey started off very rocky. Flew with united, and don't think I will ever again. First, there was a maintenance problem with the plane. Understandable, it happens. We sat on that plane for 3 hours until we finally got deplaned. Then, they said they would get us a new plane and we would depart in another 2 hours. Almost 4 hours later we get on the other plane. We are sitting there for about a half an hour when they announce that the crew and pilotes have been awake too long and they can't legally fly the plane. My thoughts were... And you didn't think of this ahead of time? Why did u even put us on the plane then? Why did u not get another crew? This affected the plans of 380 people. There were many families with small children, and there was even one woman with a baby that had no more diapers left. Then they told us our flight would be at 5pm the next day. Not the next flight out... So we got delayed for over 24 hours. Had to wait in line for about 2 more hours after they told us to get a hotel and meal voucher from them. It took this long to get through the line because there were 380 pissed off people and 4 of them. I only got one meal voucher and many other people got 2. I get to my hotel about 2 am, after finding the shuttle on my on accord because they gave horrible directions. Arrive at the airport the next day with about 5 hours to kill because had to check out of the hotel. Then they tell us that the plane will actually be depart at 630 and not 5. Yet another delay... And not a reason for it. Everyone is officially pissed and so they announce that we will get some compensation for being delayed over 24 hours (thank god I didn't have a connection!) our 2 choices are $75 off our next plane ticket or 10% off. This was my first time flying alone internationally and I had to go through all this stress, and I miss almost 2 days in London-and this is what you're offering? $75 doesn't even cover one plane ticket these days. So basically you want us to spend more money with your company... Ugh worst experience ever. United messed up big time, and has probably lost many costumers due to them not planning ahead. Then because we were delayed to 630, I arrived in London later than pLanned, and my driver left bc he had 'been waiting to long' and had to pick up someone else. They knew I had to go thru customs and pick up my baggage, so why didn't they account for that time? Couldn't reach anyone in London and had to make an international call to get a ride. Obviously it's not entirely uniteds fault that this happened, but my programs. Didn't do much in London at all because I was so tired I slept for most of The time I was there. All I can say is thank god they didn't loose my suitcase. The one good thing out of this horrible situation is it bonded all the travelers and got to meet a lot of cool people! And that concludes the misadventures of my travel to Europe. Read my next blog to find out about Cannes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb