2nd day in Limalonges


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So day 2 arrived. After a very busy (!) day 1, i had a lie in. At around 9.30 i helped to feed the chickens, and collected the eggs, which we then had for breakfast. Then i took it easy and sorted out all my belongings into some sort of order. Then suddenly it was time for lunch. How time flies when you are not busy!

This respite didn't last long though - Mike and Glyn had plans to pollard a big tree on the farm, as it was threatening to drop large branches onto the roof of the barn, and also next doors cars. So they had ladders, and chain saws, and I was given a small axe to chop up the smaller branches into kindling. 3 hours of that and my back was killing me - and my legs - and my arms. And i was covered in mud by the end of it as it was raining the whole time, and the farmyard just turns into a quagmire when it rains. So i was knackered, filthy dirty, and freezing cold. But hey I am having fun right!!! Plus Mike and Maria have enough kindling to last 6 months now - so it was all worth it.

After that I had a little lie down to recover! Then tiime for dinner, which was curry pie. Yes, curry pie, which consisted of squash, leeks, and curry powder, in a pie! It was actually really nice. My hosts are strict vegetarians, so I will be eating no meat here unless I go out for it.

Then it was off to bed, tired, full, and extremely knackered. Tomorrow is a trip to the animal market to buy a goat and 4 turkeys!!! Cant wait


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th January 2011

second day
Hi Mark Are you going to keep this up every ? Greatfun, lucky you're fit !!! Ciao, Tony.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb