Day 11: Vigeois to Sevenoaks


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
August 24th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The train journey back today proves trouble-free and comfortable. Getting the bike onto the train is more difficult than expected, as it involves shoving it up the steps of the bike compartment - I had assumed that there would be a special sliding door that allowed the bike to be wheeled onto the train. Now I know what to expect, I will make sure I remove the heavy panniers in future!

Cycling through Paris is not too bad - there are plenty of marked bike routes, although often they share roadway with buses and taxis, and at busy junctions they share the pavement with pedestrians. Provided you are careful and are not in too much of a hurry, it is fine.

As I enjoyed the train journey, I thought about the changing scenery I had enjoyed while travelling so slowly in the opposite direction. Reviewing the map, I found I had crossed no fewer than 27 rivers: in order, The Seine, Iton, Avre, Meuvette, Blaise, Eure, Livier, Foussarde, Ozanne, Yerre, Grenne, Loir, Brenne, Loire, Cher, Indre, Claise, Suin, Creuse, Anglin, Benaise, Brame, Gartempe, Glayeulle, Vienne, Auvezere, and Vezere.

I have been pleasantly surprised by the lack of traffic, and I would recommend any part of the route, apart from the odd few hundred metres, to even the most nervous of cyclists. The road surfaces themselves were far better maintained than is found on equivalent roads in the UK - there was hardly a rough surface to be found, and certainly not a single pothole on the entire route.

On arrival at Calais Frethun, it is getting dark and there is an ominous journey to complete in order to get to the ferry terminal. However I discover there is a shuttle bus that connects with this train, so I am spared the bike ride - they have a rack on the back of the bus for bikes, and also allow a bike to be taken inside the bus.

As regards the equipment I took, I would particularly recommend the following items from the excellent Decathlon store chain:


I also found the following really useful:


Advertisement



9th September 2008

Found your web-site; interesting report
I have a summary album of my Lands End - John O'Groats, and Sevenoaks to Marseille cycle trips if you want to pop round for a cuppa some time! Cheers Jon
9th September 2008

Lands End to John O'Groats
Hi Jon That could be interesting as I have a friend who is making threatening noises about us doing this route next year to celebrate his 60th birthday! Regards Roland
28th September 2008

It Brings it All Back
Although we used to do the trip by road, all of the places are very familiar. You clearly loved every moment.
5th October 2008

So thats where you've been
Have you hung up your skis and decided bike riding is the way to go? Well done, its seems like you have a lot of fun.
13th October 2008

Hi Ro - what a lovely tour and I am sure it brought back many memories. I printed your diray out for Mum to read too.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb