France Germany and Italy


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dead in Paris - Oscar WildeDead in Paris - Oscar WildeDead in Paris - Oscar Wilde

The red blobs are kisses with lipstick!
05 July 08 - Verona

France
Hard to believe but my Travels are now over a week old already. After leaving my home town of Cappoquin on the 24th June I spent a couple of days in Dublin and a night in London. Finally, on Friday 27th I was on the Eurostar bound for Paris. Had a great weekend there as I caught up with David, my ex-flatmate from Edinburgh, whom I was able to impress with my extensive knowledge of his native language!! Had a v. nice Parisian meal with him, his girlfriend and a couple of others on the Friday might and than myself and David went for a few (including one in the auld alliance) on the Saturday.

Germany
My inter-rail ticket officially kicked in on the Sunday and feeling the worse for wear I headed to Stuttgart as I thought it would be a very appropriate setting (I wonder why!) for me to watch the Euro 2008 final between Spain and Germany. The atmosphere was fantastic (at least until the end) as myself and 40,000 others watched the match on a big screen set up in the main square.

On the Monday, I headed to Offenburg to catch up with Siobhan, a friend of mine from home, which was great and the following day caught the train to Munich. I met a French Canadian girl in the hostel that I was staying and as neither of us wanted to go on one of the many organised pub tours to get hammered we decided to go for a few quiet ones instead……. needless to say we got hammered. It’s a bad sign when you get friendly with a couple of bar staff who insist on giving you drinks for free - including one called Chattreuse??? Which was v.tasty as well as being 55% proof!! She left Munich about an hour after we got back to the hostel (I obviously made a good impression!) and I spent the day in Munich taking it handy as I had to get up at 6.30am to catch the train to Bolzano in Northern Italy.

Italy
Bolzano came and went quickly as once there I caught a bus for Osteri/St. Ulrich which is situated in the heart of the Dolomites. The town itself was picturesque but quiet enough. However, it’s location was fantastic as I spent a great day walking in the Dolomites. After 2 nights there I headed back to Bolzano and caught the train to Verona.




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Perverted Parisian PigeonsPerverted Parisian Pigeons
Perverted Parisian Pigeons

This one's for you Herbie!!
Stuttgart - The morning afterStuttgart - The morning after
Stuttgart - The morning after

Scene of the square where the Euro 2008 final was watched by myself and 40,000 others on the day after the match.
Munich - EnglishergartenMunich - Englishergarten
Munich - Englishergarten

You talkin' to me!
Munich - EnglishergartenMunich - Englishergarten
Munich - Englishergarten

Bavarian Band - not sure if this will work but one of these is an actual recording of a bavarian tune!!
Italy - DolomitesItaly - Dolomites
Italy - Dolomites

Lovely flowers!


6th July 2008

Wow what views
Hi Dan, what a great idea to keep us updated. Views look fantastic in Italy and you look as if you are getting on well. Have a great time and keep us posted. Kids all send their love, take care x
17th July 2008

Interesting read Dan, was hoping you would have taken a photo of the Slovenian rail track so I could see the state of their maintenance. You are missing a great Scottish summer - not !!! Cheers Paul
26th July 2008

howya dan
howdi dan, sinead nicky and brendan here after a wee bit of drink. Nicky and O'connell delighted to see that you visited jim morrisons grave 12 year after them. Aglish is on a role tonight, any craic with you. we are all been good as usual. best of luck and chat soon luck
31st July 2008

hills
jesus dan you are still walking them hills

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb