Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
August 8th 2007
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LouvreLouvreLouvre

The inverted pyramid.
Today is the last full day of the tour. It was another free day to do as we chose. Most of us left at 8:45 and took the coach in to see the Louvre. The place was amazing. It was packed, but surprisingly easy to navigate. I got to see some gorgeous works of art. How many people can say they actually looked at the Mona Lisa in person? There were so many different types of art that it was hard to know where to start. I just wandered and looked at anything that caught my eye. It was nice…But I couldn't stay for more than an hour or two.

Once I was done, I set off to see everything I could see in Paris! Most of the day is a blur…I walked around for five hours and saw everything! I walked around the town taking pictures of anything (a snail on the garbage can, the infamous Sex and the City bridge) and everything (architecture, birds, etc.). It rained off and on all day so I looked like a drowned rat…because once again I was too lame to buy an umbrella from a street urchin. True story, I had street
ArcArcArc

Arc de Triumph.
people following me. One of the umbrella guys kept talking to me and I finally ditched him, only to have him see that I ditched him and he followed me across the park yelling to me. It was pretty unnerving, actually. Simply because I was by myself! Anyway, I kept wandering and ended up bumping into Tina. She was having a scare with a strange man too, so we were happy to have found each other! We went shopping for a bit, then hopped in a cab to go home and get ready for our big night!

Tonight’s optional was dinner and a cabaret show at Novella Eve. Everyone was dressed up and looked great! I’m so glad I went. I had initially thought about not going, but am glad I did. We got there, and a table for three was available, so Bel, James, and I grabbed it and enjoyed a nice dinner. There was also unlimited wine with the tasty dinner. I’m going to miss that part of these meals! While we were eating, we watched the show…it was pretty good! At first I was pretty unimpressed, but it really picked up (or was it the influence
MoulinMoulinMoulin

The Moulin Rouge at night. It's not as massive as the movie would suggest.
of the wine). There were a variety of acts; singing, dancing, juggling, acrobatics, humor, etc. We enjoyed everything about the dinner, the show, and the company.

After dinner the whole group went to a bar called O’Sullivan’s. It was definitely not the quiet pub I had envisioned. It was loud, crowded, and a great time! The whole group hung out all night and really enjoyed each other’s company for the last time. We all had a great time that night. Almost everyone in the whole group was at the bar and hugging, laughing, smiling, and saying their goodbyes.

At the end of the night, James and Jesse were hungry, so we made a “Quick” stop. Quick is the French equivalent of a McDonald’s or some other late night fast food joint. It was funny, because when we got there they weren’t making any new food. They were only selling what they had already made. Well, James ordered everything that they had. It was hilarious. So the three of us had a buffet and laughed when everyone else walked in and couldn’t get any food. Ha ha ha!

We got back to the hotel and were asleep by
MonaMonaMona

A blurry photo of the Mona Lisa.
3.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

CupidCupid
Cupid

One of the many pieces of work inside the Louvre.
OutsideOutside
Outside

The courtyard at the Louvre!
BarBar
Bar

Corner tavern.
WanderingWandering
Wandering

Wandering around the city.
CabaretCabaret
Cabaret

Our table at the lovely cabaret show.
JesseJesse
Jesse

Jesse and I hanging out at O'Sullivans.
Goodbye!Goodbye!
Goodbye!

Saying goodbye to our fearless leader!
BoysBoys
Boys

The fun Canadian boys we met.
HaHa
Ha

Lyn, the Italian boys, and I. I'm trying to mimic Adrian's pout!


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb