Curse of the camping Haugo


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the long and winding road...the long and winding road...the long and winding road...

I couldn't get a photo of it, but there was lightning all around.
The past few nights I have been staying with the Wiebes, who have graciously let me stay with them in their gite in La Charite. They are currently rennovating their place in La Charite, so I lent a hand for a couple days. Me and Dane dug out the floor of the câve below their house, where their wine cellar will be.

When I mentioned that I was planning to bike the Loire, Len said that he could lend me his bike for the trip. So I bought a small one man tent and I am making my way down the river. The Tent turned out to be the cheap kind, and I have to hold the door shut with paper clips. Right now I am set up for my second night, and in keeping with the traditions I was raised with, it has rained the entire time. It started less than an hour after I left La Charite, and slowly turned into a thunderstorm. There were strikes in literally every direction. I played it safe and didn't go into any fields if I thought the strikes were going to be close. Most of today was cloudy, but now,
The view from SancerreThe view from SancerreThe view from Sancerre

My first day camping
as I am huddled in my tent, with my moistened stuff, the rain is coming down hard again.

At least camping is cheap here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb