Happy Swedish National Day!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Rouen
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Today is sweden's nation day, so let's break out a smorgasbord of celebration! Apparently, it's not a big deal in Sweden, so we'll settle with going into town tonight and maybe some pastry at lunch.

We are planning on going to the D-Day beaches this weekend, along with mount saint michelle. Today is the 64th anniversary of the landings. There are a few celebrations going on in Bayeux this weekend, but nothing too major since they are gearing up for next year I believe.

I finally got a computer and internet, so hopefully I will post a little more often now. I'll attach some more pictures and videos as well.

I found this cheese with garlic and herbs in it, it's just simply amazing. If you're a garlic lover, you'll bless this cheese. I still haven't cooked anything yet-stove or microwave. I have a few croissants in the morning, buy a sandwhich with fruit and a drink for lunch, then I usually have another sandwich for dinner (maybe a pastry for dessert????). But when you have baguettes and all kinds of meats and cheeses, it doesn't get old. It's like eating a jimmy john's slim 5 with a kick. I may need to get my cholestrol checked when I get back. I bought some butter last week, it had the word 'gastro' in it's name, figured it had to be good. Good thing red wine is beneficial to your health, I'm counting on those benefits to outweight everything else.

But it's not so bad, we're gone on the weekends, and we usually eat in town once or twice a week, so really I only have a few meals at my room. Oh, the yogurt here is really good. I remember liking it in Europe before, but it's not as thick and creamy as the stuff in the US, it's more refreshing than anything. Everyone here eats yogurt, either with lunch or on a break at 3 in the afternoon. Everyone. Or pudding, pudding is big as well. I found the potato chip aisle the other day, it's about 5 feet long.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th June 2008

Too good
Too good on the pics and video. Curious to see what you think of Mont St. Michelle. Would like to go back and spend a little more time in that area sometime. I like the introspective thinker pose at the Rodin garden. I had to look at it twice before I figured out what you were doing. Too good. Too good. Hope you don't put on that "French 15" eating all of those baguettes and cheeses and butter over there. I think that Hy-Vee actually carries that Boursin cheese believe it or not (classin' it up), maybe we'll pick some up sometime. However the Hy Vee french baguette is not comparable . . . .
6th June 2008

Yeah, it's a good pic, I like it. Better pick up some of that cheese and try it out. No French 15 yet, actually had to tighten the belt up a notch, maybe from the $20 in change in my pocket.
7th June 2008

coffee
Brother Paul, You mentioned you drink a lot of coffee over there. Do they use any special machine for the coffee you drink during your many coffee breaks? Or is it like a Mr. Coffee/Bunn type that we use just to make some coffee around the house? When you go out do you drink just black coffee or mix it up with an espresso?
10th June 2008

It's just a plain coffee maker, but it's one scoop of coffee per cup plus one extra one for the machine, so it's strong. Expresso all the way for coffee breaks in town - no real such thing as coffee here. cafe is express, you can get some milk in it, or you can get a cappucino.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb