Etretat, last leg of another amazing trip!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Etretat
July 17th 2016
Published: September 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit, this entry is only about smiles, family, a cliff, and an amazing golf course!



This is the last stop of our little French trip. I have to admit, we have been so lucky with the weather. I told the girls before the trip...we need to get ready for Summer in Brittany. It could be rainy, windy, and fairly cold. Instead of this, we had gorgeous sun and warm days most of the time.



One more time, we drove the back roads from Bayeux to Fecamp where we are spending our last night together. We crossed a huge bridge above La Seine, the well-known river passing Paris all the way to Le Havre. We didn't spend much time in Fecamp, our goal was few kilometers on the East, the cliffs of Etretat.



I have seen the cliffs as a young child and had camped in the area. But since I started to play golf at the age of 13, I soon find out I wanted to play the magic golf course which sits right on the top of the cliffs. Never had a chance to do it...very high on my list...so here it is, we give you one of the golf courses with the best views ever...in the world!



The green fee here in summer is not cheap and the course is crowded, even at the end of the day. But the sun was full blow out...and I was lucky with pretty mild winds around. Tiffany enjoyed few last hours of good internet connection at the hotel...when adults went out! I know exactly what you think about it...damned internet!



Tanya was one more time my caddy to play the Etretat Golf Club. Next time, I guess she will be playing too. The course has sea views from at least 15 or 16 of the holes. The views are just gorgeous. On some holes, you even hit above the cliff. Quality of the greens and fairways was more than decent. Not the top international golf course conditions, but we came for the views, and we had them!



I play a decent 88. Should have shoot some 5 or 6 shots less. But on some holes, playing this course for the first time, with only 7 clubs, let say, it is a challenge ahead! The most impressive hole being by far the 10th hole...where I lost the two only balls of the day. The green of the 10th being just by the path to the cliffs, you do have a constant crowd looking at the golfers.



We had our last dinner in Fecamp. We went also two times to the view points of the cliffs in Etretat. Once just after playing the round of golf. Next visit was next day for a lunch picnic with both my ladies. From there, it was all the way back to Paris, this time again following the onboard GPS...and no highways till we reached the outskirts of the capital.



Tonight, Tiffany is flying with Tanya to Dubai, and there one to South Africa and the other to Thailand. I'm staying the night in Paris, taking the train next morning to Luxembourg.



I'm now over 6 weeks late for blogging. I stay just 3 nights in Luxembourg and Brussels before heading East for more adventures, to an area that I still had to discover for the first time. So more blogs coming...even if this is written from home in Bangkok.



Thanks my ladies for such a great month of July! Will remember all the bubbles, the great food...but more even important, all those smiles!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb