Morzine in the Summer.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Morzine
October 10th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Morzine in SummerMorzine in SummerMorzine in Summer

Avorias in the background
Ok, ok...I know it is not summer now...but I have been really bad at keeping this blog updated. So I am thinking why not be lazy and just do more photos. I mean, lets be honest I bet that is all you all REALLY look at. I am sorry not to be in Morzine for the autumn though as the colours of the trees are meant to be out of this world.

During the summer I was so lucky to have a flurry of visitors over three weeks and they experienced the unpredictable weather of the French Alps. It was great to have everyone out here and meant I could get out there and really appreciate what I have on my doorstep. Each year there is a firework display up at Lake Montriond, so ladden with our picnic and booze we walked the hour to the lake, found ourselves a great spot and soaked in the atmosphere. After the display from the paraponters, the great fireworks and live bands playing we wandered back into Morzine.

Due to rainy weather we only managed to do one day walks so the two day walk had to wait for the arrival of
The girls have arrivedThe girls have arrivedThe girls have arrived

Drinks at mine!
Fiona, John and Roger where the weather was not going to stop us. The first day of the walk was in the rain, more rain, mud slides and a late finish - not sure the guy at the mountain refuge was that pleased with us arriving just in time for dinner. But the views the next morning were lovely and we well deserved our beer when we had finished.

I even had a go at mountain biking. I had bought a bike at the beginning of the summer, then over a glass of wine or two had agreed to go for a days biking on the last day the lifts were open. So we set off at 9.30 arrived home at 6.30 with just a few more bruises than when I had set off. Apparently we had covered about 80km!! (OH MY GOD!!) But it was great and I am pleased I did it (well, not the first time I fell and I went straight over the top of the handle bars!).

Lot of other things have kept me entertained over the summer - the Mont Blanc rally came to our doors and what a noise they created, however, good fun to watch. Then Milly and Helen did a 10km run - only wished I could have joined them. And of course, lots of dinner parties to attend where I have got to know some really great people over here.

Work is progressing well on the new chalet I will be managing in the winter - it will be something special and very luxurious so if you have the time and money then come out and visit! Am still trying to persuade Mum and Dad to come out and do their walking holiday in the Alps for a change....lets see.

Am currently in New Zealand with Nic and the family so expect another update soon on activities we have been up to.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tete de bostan walkTete de bostan walk
Tete de bostan walk

Me, Fi, John and Roger
Tough one day hikeTough one day hike
Tough one day hike

Great but hard work - just glad I had my walking poles to help me! Karen, me, Abi, Tina, Oli and Kath.
Oh my God....Oh my God....
Oh my God....

What was I thinking...
Mont Blanc RallyMont Blanc Rally
Mont Blanc Rally

Lining the streets
Helen and Millie 10km runHelen and Millie 10km run
Helen and Millie 10km run

Trying to find out how well they did!


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb