Lyon,France (Women's World Cup Final USA v Netherlands)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
July 5th 2019
Published: June 16th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Just like in 2015, we bought tickets to the Women's World Cup not even knowing if the USA Women's team would even be in the finals. But of course, the USA Women's soccer team is better than all soccer teams, women or men, to ever exist in my opinion; and they did end up getting into the finals. No offense, but the USA women's soccer team is the only bit of patriotism I have. So we went to Lyon and this would be the first international trip with my sister, Maja.

The first day was sight seeing around Lyon and the first journey was a tram to a church. Now, I am not a big fan of churches, because I am not a fan of organized religion so it made me a little queasy, but it was pretty. Then we walked to the Theatre Romain which was basically the ruins of an ancient amphitheater. There were dandelions there so I blew them into my 1 year old sister's face because I am the best sister ever.

We hung out with my dad's friend Matt which was kind of de ja vu since we went to the 2015 world cup final with him as well. One night we went out with dinner with him and my dad and he split a famous type of local sausage. We did not enjoy it very much because it was quite gross which was surprising on account that we are all "adventurous eaters" as my dad likes to say, but the visible intestines which was soft and gooey was a little too much.

On the day of the big game, we took this very packed train to the stadium. We all looked a little bit idiotic but as I said, these events are the only times I am patriotic. There was a lot of chanting on the train and people dressed up equally as weird, but everyone was kind to each other. It was very hot so we did not spend that much time outside. The stadium was packed and even before the game the fans were crazy. Even my step-mom didn't mind getting dressed up in the patriotic attire to watch soccer ,a sport that she really doesn't like.

It was a good game. Rapinoe scored and she is my favorite soccer player, but I still missed Hope Solo. I will always love her. Lavelle also scored which allowed the USA to with their 4th world cup at a score of 2-0. It was more than a win for the USA, it was a win for women and gays!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb