An official Alp-aholoic


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and my new best friends...THE ALPS!!!Me and my new best friends...THE ALPS!!!Me and my new best friends...THE ALPS!!!

I am becoming quite skilled at using my timer to take crazy shots of myself for you all to enjoy!
I have just seven words...I AM IN LOVE WITH THE ALPS...just spent the past 3 days in Lucerne, Switzerland set at the base of Mt. Pilatus and Mt. Rigi, two of the higher points in the Swiss Alps...hiked a part of Mt. Pilatus yesterday, to a look out point called Frankmuntegg...it was about 2 hours UPHILL and boy is my butt feeling it today, but boy were the views at the top worth it. ANd well I know I must be in love with the Alps, because even though it is absolutely pouring today, I can't help but smile being surrounded by the beauty, magesty and mystery of the snow capped giants. (True love does come after reveling in even the nastiest parts of something--right?).

In order to get here I got to take the Mount Blanc express which is a tiny four car train that ascends up and up into the mountains passing by waterfalls and alpine forests every which way you look.

The second best thing about the mountains are the people they seem to attract, I've met some good ones in the past couple of days...my favorites being a group of guys from the good ol U S of A---Scott, Parker and Adam...three mountain crazy boys walking through as much of Switzerland as they can. They have been camping all the way, but stopped at the hostel I was at in Lucerne to do some laundry and stay a night and we ended up spending an evening together just talking and talking about nothing and everything and smoking some cuban cigars...there is something great about people who appreciate the outdoors...they are super creative...you have to be when you don't have any conventional forms of entertainment.

Prior to my trip to Lucerne, I planned on heading back north to visit the Rhine Valley in Germany, however, my craving for mountains seems to be insatiable right now, so I skipped out on that plan and headed south to Chammonix, France...the sight of the first winter olympics in 1924 at the base of Mt. Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe ( I Think). NOt exactly sure how long I will stay, I am going to hold out a couple days in hopes of some sunshine or at least a break in the rain so I can explore a bit.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Adam, Parker and ScottAdam, Parker and Scott
Adam, Parker and Scott

Three boys walking through Switzerland


30th May 2006

paris
hey sarah, dave and i are going to be in paris june 2, 3,and 4th. we are going to disneyland paris on the 3rd. what part of paris are you going to be staying in ? tonite we are leaving to go to barcelona spain. we will check our email when we get to spain. Hope to see you soon. ciao! shan and dave

Tot: 0.495s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb