Welcome to Annecy


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Annecy
September 6th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Front doorMy Front doorMy Front door

Mine is the one with the graffiti!! I don't have one of the lovely rooms above but am at the back...
It was an early start on Sunday morning and I must say I was slightly nervous....not about going to Annecy but by the fact I had far too much stuff and was I going to get it all through security. But I did!!

Arrived in Geneva and had a couple of hours to spare before catching the bus to Annecy so left all my luggage at the bus stop and headed out to explore. Oh my God it was hot and all I have brought is jumpers, coats and trainers. I managed to ring my landlady who had left my key with the hat shop keeper.

Having been to Annecy a month earlier with Lucy-Lou it was good to have some bearings when I arrived so ladden down with rucksack on back, laptop on front and another bag I started the 15 minute walk to town. To say I was slightly sweaty when I arrived at my destination is a slight understatement. But find it I did, communicate with the hat lady in my pigeon French I did (actually she took one look at me and said...La clef). That is when panic hit in. I entered the stone walkway,
Central AnnecyCentral AnnecyCentral Annecy

One of the many lovely canals
pitch black, found the light and stumbled up the stairs not knowing which door was mine, so knocked on all and just tried to see which key fit. Alors, I got in to my little apartment for the next four weeks. It is cosy, cold and a little damp....ummm....lovely!! Quick phone call to my sister in panic - what am I doing!!

I did venture out and it is a lovely place, very tranquille with lots of little streets to explore and canals to follow - a mini Amsterdam!

School the next day comprised of a written test followed by an oral one. The written one was hilarious as I barely understood it so just tried my best racking my brains for things I was taught in school many years ago. Then the oral - that was ok and the teacher very encouraging. So the rest was I was put in group 4, top intermediate (how the hell did that happen!?!). We were then shown around the town in the afternoon and my head hurt by the end of the day as all was in French!!

We either have morning school (8.30 until 12.30) or afternoon (13.30 to 17.30). I prefer the morning slot as it leaves you to do stuff in the afternoon....having said that all I seem to be doing is homework as we are set LOADS!!

Have made friends with some lovely girls - they are Dutch, Swedish and American - all younger but then they think I am 26!! We try to speak French to each other outside class but often revert to English when it gets too much.

Advertisement



7th September 2006

Bloody well done
Very proud of you little sister, way to go girl!!! Hope you are still enjoying yourself and that you have told your new friends your real age!! You will have to set one of these up for us, now on the countdown to your arrival. Bought a set of drawers for all your knickers and a new bed so you can have our old one!!!!!!!(big enough for 2). Have sent you an email and text too, hope you got them. Love you lots
10th September 2006

Well it is a good start. How often are you going to update. I bet it gets less and less as the month goes on
10th September 2006

Good Pictures, are they out of a catalogue? XXX

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb