Grand canyon French style


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
October 8th 2012
Published: October 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Canyon de Verdon sounds like something nice, almost edible, well it's not but very nice anyway or even better than very nice.

Some of the names of places in France sound very nice I really don't know why and in Italy it's even better.



For those of you who actually read my gibberish I had lunch in some place or other on my way down to Gap partly because I was hungry and partly because it was pissing down so much i could not look at my map.

The guy at the table next to me said that i had to see the Canyon de Verdon, and he was right it is a must when in that neck of the wood.

After a semi crummy froggie breakfast, better than the Chilean ones, I was ready to go but just in case I asked the hotel landlord about directions and also about where to go

and if the canyon was worth while.

HAH! one of the guests said, he's not from here and he doesn't know anything!

Well madam, do you? I asked and whipped out the map, all the locals said that the canyon was a must and that I could do another Col on the way namely the Col de Allos.

And yes, I have lied to you Col is not the French word for fun rather the word for pass.

But passes are in the mountains and driving up to a pass means a lot of curves and the same going down and thats fun.....

The Canyon de Verdon was all it was supposed to be and then some, nice riding and spectacular views and the sun was shining as well.

I had a snack, a baguette 1/2 m long with cheese and tomatoes!

A very long time ago I spent a summer down in a place called Le Lavandou with a friend in his family's apartment.

As it was only a couple of hours awy I thought why not and then I could wash my feet in the Med.

Nice ride getting there, actually nicer going there than being there sometimes nostalgia is stronger than common sense.

Amazing amounts of people on the beach and that in mid september the water was cool though, thermally and the sea looked like in the old days.

A nice walkabout along the beach and back and then it was brew time.

Then another walk into town to look at the rich and beautiful some cold white wine and some nuts in a restaurant of the beaten track= more wine more nuts and less euros


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb