Island of levant nudist pionnier since 1931


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

last night I went to sleep on this beautiful island, ironically to the sound of NYC police sirens blaring from a TV set... Today I woke up to really loud insects in the trees around 6. 30. No one was up so I walked to town square at the top of the hill. The restaurant hotel "Le Gecko" where I'm staying is in the middle of the steep hill and you have to walk a good 10 mins to get to the top.
I got some bread from the bakers and the lady behind the counter had heard who I was and asked if I would like to exhibit some paintings in the bakers... I said I would be coming back with posters and postcards of the drawings and paintings I do on the island and that if she liked them she could perhaps sell them in her bakers, she loved that idea....
I tried to go on the Internet in the cafe next door but it worked for a few secs then went out.... so I went back to Le Gecko.
Marion was up and getting ready for the lunch services, so I did some filming for the Le Gecko as I have been asked to make a short film for their website in return for a free place to put my tent and a meal at night, then went down the hill to find a place to swim.
The island of Levant is nudist but I would say only 20% of the people walk around are totally naked in the town and up and down the hill, but on the beaches and rocks almost every one is naked and enjoying the sun and sea, families and young and old people. There's no pressure to be naked which I think is really cool.
There's loads of wild garlic and and wild salads growing everywhere which I picked for lunch. I went swimming and relaxed all day. That evening I filmed the hotel and restaurant as the sun set through the sea mist. One annoying thing about the island is the amount of mosquitoes, they are every where in the past two days I've been bitten from head to foot... but the island is wild and the variety of insects and birds and plants is astounding, so I wouldn't wishes to kill off any insects like we have on the main land, but I recommend that you get lots of anti mosquito spray before you come to the island of Levant.
I called the Hostel in Marseilles and talked to the Director Christophe and they are expecting me for tomorrow to stay for a week to paint a mural on the outside I'll get a free room and two meals a day. As I go to sleep to night I listen to the Insects, and I'm very happy that no mosquitoes have gotten into my tent.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb