Traveling to Marseilles


Advertisement
Published: September 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Traveling to Marseilles took two flights, one from Ft. Lauderdale to Frankfurt, then from Frankfurt to Marseilles. The plane ride to Frankfurt took about 8 hours, but it felt like 12! I was unable to fall asleep because the man next to me kept changing positions, even falling asleep while his head was resting on my seat. Thankfully, the plane had little tv screens built into the seat backs, and you could pay a small fee so you could watch movies or tv shows. So, since I was unable to sleep, I paid for the tv, and watched the first 7 episodes of Breaking Bad... I loved it! During the flight, a woman in the row in front of me got caught smoking in the planes bathroom, resulting in the flight attendants lecturing her on how it is against the law and if she does it again they will land in a random country and drop her off. Personally, I was hoping she would try it again! As we were landing, the man sitting next to me was telling me about how sometimes he gets sick during landings. Not even 3 minutes after telling me this, he asked me to move, and he ran to the bathroom. You could hear him vomiting the whole time :P



Frankfurts airport was very interesting compared to those in the US. They had an area full of designer make up, handbags, clothes, accessories, electronics, and even luxury cars! It was hard to get to my flight because it was in a different terminal, and to get there I had to go through customs.... I was very worried for this, because I have heard that Germans are very strict when it comes to Americans; however, it was not bad at all! There was a man who checked my passport and asked why I was traveling, but other than that, it was just like going through regular security! Once I found my way to my next flights gate, I decided that since I was in Germany, I have to drink a beer. I walked around for 15 minutes, peeking my head into places, but none of them had any beer! Finally, I found a small cafe that offered alcohol. For 3,50 Euro I got a small white beer, but it was not very small at all! This is the first time I tried white beer, and it was so good!



Finally, the time came for me to board my flight to Marseilles! The terminal didn't lead to the plane, but downstairs to a road where we boarded a bus that took us to the runway! We walked on the runway, and up the stairs to get onto the plane. About an hour and a half later, I landed in Marseilles, where my host dad, Anthony, was waiting to pick me up! The drive from the airport to their home was breathtaking. In less than an hour, I saw more types of landscapes then I ever had seen in my life. There were a lot of trees, fields, and small towns, as well as a castle! I was so amazed by the scenery that I forgot to take any pictures, so I apologize!



When I arrived to my new home, I was greeted with a lot of smiles and hugs and excitement! Even a homemade sign that says "Welcome to our home Emma". I already feel as if I am apart of their family!



Sorry if this is horribly written, for it is my first post and it's sort of strange to do!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb