Frites and Mussles


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

LAKE OF LOVELAKE OF LOVELAKE OF LOVE

With all the chocolate Belgium has to offer I definitely fell in love.
The land of beer, fries, mussles, waffles and chocolate, chocolate, chocolate! I have indulged. Stayed in Brugge which was such a quaint little town. The next morning we went to Brussels for the day. A lot of people told me that there wasn’t much to see but I have to disagree. It was exactly the weekend I needed, away from hectic London and tourists. I did all the proper sight seeing. And of course, plentiful of eating and drinking beer. Cherry and raspberry flavoured. Mmmm….

Before heading back to England we stopped at some world war memorial sites. It was pretty surreal to visit the actual trenches and battle fields. The trip definitely has given me the travel bug again. I plan on heading to Cornwall next weekend to get some sun!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

THE BEST HOT CHOCOLATETHE BEST HOT CHOCOLATE
THE BEST HOT CHOCOLATE

Dipping the chocolate on a stick in the hot milk and a touch of Grand Marnier warmed me after walking around in the rain. Sadly the cafe closed and we had no choice but to face the miserable cold all over again.
CHERRY BEERCHERRY BEER
CHERRY BEER

Fit for a gal like myself.
MADE A FABULOUS MESS OUT OF THISMADE A FABULOUS MESS OUT OF THIS
MADE A FABULOUS MESS OUT OF THIS

After walking around Brussels all day I was absolutely famished until we found this waffle (at a price, 9Euros).
TYNE COT CEMETARYTYNE COT CEMETARY
TYNE COT CEMETARY

The largest Commonwealth war cemetery in the world in terms of burials.
YPRES/ HILL 62YPRES/ HILL 62
YPRES/ HILL 62

Original British trenches in a small section of the wood have been preserved as they were found after the war. In the 1980s a tunnel was discovered.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb