Nice guys Finnish last


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
July 27th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.341, 6.7898

Ate breaky at hotel. Decent croissant, but I've yet to have an incredible one like those in Paris. It was my first time using sheets in a week last night. It gets very humid in the basement but does get cold late at night.

Walked down Promenade des Anglais towards the Chateau. Nice views at the top, but over-rated (and hot!) Back down to Vieux Ville. Saw a restaurant that had hoses embedded in their patio umbrellas. Every so often they spray a mist on the patrons. Nice idea for a hot place like this.

Just found out that Placebo was in town last night. Gaaahhh! If I would´ve known ... of course, who knows if I could´ve gotten a ticket. Snacked on a tarte blette. Not bad, but was disappointed as I thought it was bluette as in blueberries.

Had a reglisse ice cream. Don´t know what it was, but it was crap. They had other interesting flavours like rosemary and thyme (probably good). Back to the hotel for some suntan lotion then off to the beach. Ran into Marco, Jeff, Ray, Catherine at the beach. Very hot. Felt great in the water.

A quick shower and then dinner. Had a nice refreshing vin blanc. Crepe forestiere - mushrooms and creme sauce. Had the same type of sauce probably 5 years ago at Debaji´s Market, but this was much better. The wine was a little pricey at 4 euros, but what the hell?

Baguette was quite good. Ave Maria was playing, but a version with vocals by some tenor. This seems to be my new song that I hear everywhere. Main course was grilled dorado stuffed with thyme and some branch-like herb. Good, but definitely nowhere near the best entree I´ve ever had in France. Came with roasted tomato - ok. And lentils and peas. Should´ve asked for a salad instead.

The service is pretty incredible at this restaurant - prompt and with a smile. As soon as I eat the last bite the plate is being whisked away. Dessert was Ile Flottante (floating island). Intriguing name. Meringue with almonds in a light cream soup. Very nice and light. definitely the highlight of dinner.

The locals probably don´t know what to make of me. I´ve got this horrid English/Spanish accent when I speak French. Early to bed for me; I need to make up for last night´s lack of sleep.

The heat isn´t always a bad thing. A couple of Finnish girls moved into the dungeon and slept in their underwear. Being the gentleman that I am, I never looked ... as much as I wanted to. The next morning, I offered to leave the room to let them change into their swimsuits. Drew (American student) was "sleeping" in a dark little corner. Apparently he got quite the show and thanked me for it. It´s true what they say, Nice guys Finnish last 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb