Oh, come on! Seriously? Sunbathing at 16 degrees Celsius?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
April 17th 2017
Published: April 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

930 a.m. Monday

Yeah, they're already out there. Some woman in a bikini is already out on the stony beach in front of us, trying to get a sun tan. It's 16 degrees out there! That's 61 degrees Fahrenheit. Man, that's devotion. And I thought the whole tanning thing was ready to die a natural death.

Experience here has shown me just how wrong I am. Again. Evidently, I am a slow learner. Yesterday was warm, sunny and beautiful. The he beach was covered with people in skimpy outfits grabbing some rays for hours on end. And considering the size of the bikinis, "on end" it certainly was.

From what I saw on my one foray out onto the stony shingle - little sand here - most sun worshippers at this time of year are as pale as I am. We are talking fish belly pale here, glow in the dark white, folks who would look bloodless in a roomful of unfed vampires. SERIOUSLY lacking in pigments, if you get what I'm saying.

You can practically hear the sizzle as you walk by.

Lucky buggers. I am so envious. I can never do that sort of thing. Never mind Nice, I get bad skin reactions to sunlight in Edmonton. In February. Through the windshield.

Well might you laugh.

Worth mentioning though is that niece Kelly did brave the waters yesterday and actually got in for a swim. It took her about 45 minutes of sitting on the beach listening to the screams of the other people going into the cold water before she actually went in herself, but she did.

We have to leave now as Kelly's flight is at noon.

And, for those of you who were hoping for pictures of all that sunbathing, sorry to disappoint!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.482s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb