Arrival in Nice, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
September 25th 2013
Published: September 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Now I know how it feels to be in a place where you can't say even the simplest things, like "where's the bathroom," and if you could, you wouldn't understand their answer if they weren't pointing. I feel really stupid! Thank goodness Anita has mastered a few phrases, and most of the stores and restaurants speak and understand English. Very humbling.

Nice is beautiful and looks a lot like Italy to me. Our hotel is right in the center and only a few blocks from the beach where I plan to go swim shortly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Anita and me, obviouslyAnita and me, obviously
Anita and me, obviously

We're standing at the head of a street that is an open market, smaller but similar to the Pike Market. At night, all the flowers, fruit, veggies, soaps, spices, etc. go away and it becomes a promenade of people strolling along.
Looking up the hillLooking up the hill
Looking up the hill

We were too tired from the long flight to climb all the way up to"old town," and you can see why! After I took the photo, I saw that I'd taken an indelicate shot of a dog doing its business. And, yes, the owner scooped up after the dog. Anita will add an entry later.
Up the hill looking downUp the hill looking down
Up the hill looking down

We're in"Old Town," looking down toward the town center..


Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb